[Solved][0.17.64] MacOS display scaling bug

Anything that prevents you play the game properly. Do you have issues with paying for the game, downloading it or properly running it on your computer? Let us know here.
Post Reply
lacika2000
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 7:25 am
Contact:

[Solved][0.17.64] MacOS display scaling bug

Post by lacika2000 » Sun Aug 11, 2019 8:42 am

Hi dev team,

I have found a MacOS screen scaling bug. I am using a 4K display (Samsung U28E590) with my Mac. When I am running in default scaling mode with this monitor (when I click from default to scaled it says "Looks like 1920x1080" on U28E590, see screen cap), the Factorio starts up in 1920x1080 resolution, despite the native 4K res available and the OS using it. The game is still pixelated (ugly) as needs to be scaled up by the display to 4K instead of the game using the 4K res. Factorio uses 100% scaling for its interface. See factorio-scaled default.log for details.
Screen Shot scaled default.png
Screen Shot scaled default.png (376.9 KiB) Viewed 118 times
If I change the display settings to "More space" ("Looks like 3840x2160"), then Factorio starts up with the native 4K resolution of the display, applies its own scaling to the interface (200%) and everything is in its glorious 4K res state in the game. See factorio-native res.log for details.
Screen Shot native res.png
Screen Shot native res.png (106.23 KiB) Viewed 118 times
Obviously, as a temporary solution, I will change the display settings for playing Factorio each time and change it back once finished playing, but under Windows the OS scaling is not an issue at all, so I guess this should be possible for MacOS as well. ;)

Maybe there is a way to adjust which screen res Factorio picks up from the OS (native screen res vs 'what it looks like' after OS scaling applied)?

Your help is appreciated, as always. :)
Attachments
factorio-native res.log
(3.96 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
factorio-scaled default.log
(3.96 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
Last edited by lacika2000 on Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

lacika2000
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.64] MacOS display scaling bug

Post by lacika2000 » Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:24 am

Additional information that might help with this bug: "Render in native screen resolution" option in Graphics does not change anything in the game, changing it (setting it on or off) does not introduce a game restart...

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3788
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.64] MacOS display scaling bug

Post by posila » Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:07 am

Hello, did you install fresh 0.17 or did you update to 0.17 from 0.16?

lacika2000
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.64] MacOS display scaling bug

Post by lacika2000 » Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:31 pm

posila wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:07 am
Hello, did you install fresh 0.17 or did you update to 0.17 from 0.16?
Hi Posila! Can't recall, to be honest, but I suspect I have upgraded, as the machine is from last year October... Should I try a fresh install?

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3788
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.64] MacOS display scaling bug

Post by posila » Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:57 pm

lacika2000 wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:31 pm
Should I try a fresh install?
if that's not too much trouble, can you try the fresh install?

lacika2000
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.64] MacOS display scaling bug

Post by lacika2000 » Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:24 pm

posila wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:57 pm
lacika2000 wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:31 pm
Should I try a fresh install?
if that's not too much trouble, can you try the fresh install?
I have removed the program, downloaded the latest experimental, installed it and it seems to resolve the resolution problem. Now the game recognizes the native 4K resolution of the display and also applies the right scaling to the interface, so no pixelated screen for me anymore, everything looks great.

Although I don't understand why or how this is the solution, thank you for helping!!

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users