SOLVED [0.17.26] curcuit controlled inserter does not work with belt

Anything that prevents you from playing the game properly. Do you have issues playing for the game, downloading it or successfully running it on your computer? Let us know here.
Post Reply
yogg
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:24 pm
Contact:

SOLVED [0.17.26] curcuit controlled inserter does not work with belt

Post by yogg »

Hi

I don't think this is a bug, but I don't understand why it does not work.
I have a (ugly) test setup like this:
belt_vs_chest.png
belt_vs_chest.png (1.81 MiB) Viewed 1070 times
If I turn the steam up and down on the constant combinator (red box on the left), all 8 inserters get triggered (I see the red lamp blinking on the inserters) but only the 4 chest inserters move items.
The 4 belt inserters do nothing.

Here is the code for my test setup:

Code: Select all

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
I have tested it with and without mods.
Does someone know why the belt setup does not work?

Regards,
yogg
Last edited by yogg on Wed Apr 10, 2019 5:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DaleStan
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 368
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 2:40 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.26] curcuit controlled inserter does not work with belt

Post by DaleStan »

Inserters pulling from belts need multiple ticks to locate and pick up an item. If you disable them before they manage to pick up an item, they'll just go back to idle. Inserters pulling from chests can locate and pick up an entire hand-capacity of items the first tick they're enabled.

If you want your from-belt inserters to work, you'll need to change your pulse-generator into a latch, or at least hold the pulse for several (I'd guess 3-6) ticks.

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3911
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.26] curcuit controlled inserter does not work with belt

Post by orzelek »

Out of curiosity:
What are you trying to do?

(I have a feeling you might be overcomplicating things :D)

yogg
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:24 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.26] curcuit controlled inserter does not work with belt

Post by yogg »

Thanks that explains my problem.
I think I replace the belts with chests and robots, as an easy solution.

I only want to add a single fuel cell to all my nuclear reactors if steam goes low in my tanks.

GrumpyJoe
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 7:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.26] curcuit controlled inserter does not work with belt

Post by GrumpyJoe »

yogg wrote:
Wed Apr 10, 2019 5:55 pm
I only want to add a single fuel cell to all my nuclear reactors if steam goes low in my tanks.
as this concerns alot of people, there are many many many approaches, take a look at the Energy production forum

you dont need to copy and paste, it could give you ideas to adapt for yourself

One might be, that you enable the inserter that takes the used up fuel cell with your setup
it grabs from a reactor and any machine and cargo wagon has the same properties as described above for chests, instant inserter pickup
wire in and output inserter together, read hand contents (hold) so as long as that is holding an empty cell it can enable the input one
the drawback of this is, you need to fuel it manually when starting it for the first time

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”