Make factorio use pulse instead of alsa

Anything that prevents you from playing the game properly. Do you have issues playing for the game, downloading it or successfully running it on your computer? Let us know here.
Post Reply
braiam
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:57 am
Contact:

Make factorio use pulse instead of alsa

Post by braiam »

For some reason, on my new system ALSA doesn't work. While I figure that out, all other programs that use pulseaudio seems to be doing fine. Is there a way to pulse-fy factorio? (note about the below log, it starts, just without sound. dsp doesn't exist, but dsp1 does)

Code: Select all

   0.012 2019-01-05 12:13:31; Factorio 0.16.51 (build 36654, linux64, alpha)
   0.183 Operating system: Linux (Debian testing)
   0.184 Program arguments: "/home/braiam/games/factorio/bin/x64/factorio" 
   0.184 Read data path: /home/braiam/games/factorio/data
   0.184 Write data path: /home/braiam/games/factorio [133734/484814MB]
   0.184 Binaries path: /home/braiam/games/factorio/bin
   0.235 System info: [CPU: AMD Ryzen 3 2200G with Radeon Vega Graphics    , 4 cores, RAM: 14017 MB]
   0.235 Environment: DISPLAY=:0.0, WAYLAND_DISPLAY=<unset>
   0.263 Display options: [FullScreen: 1] [VSync: 1] [UIScale: custom (81.8%)] [MultiSampling: OFF] [Screen: 255] [Lang: en]
   0.265 Available display adapters: 1
   0.265  [0]: resolution 1920x1080px at [0,0]
   0.265 Create display on adapter 0. Size 1280x720 at position [310, 162].
   0.639 Initialised OpenGL:[0] AMD RAVEN (DRM 3.27.0, 4.19.0-1-amd64, LLVM 7.0.1); driver: 4.4 (Compatibility Profile) Mesa 18.2.8
   0.639   Video memory size (dedicated/total available/current available): 2048/5120/1926 MB
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1099:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
   0.822 No '/dev/dsp' device available in your system.

   0.822 Perhaps Open Sound System is not installed or running.

   0.822 Failed to init OSS.

   0.822 No audio driver can be used. (error code: 1)

   0.822 Warning Display.cpp:52: Installing audio failed retrying...
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1099:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
   1.323 No '/dev/dsp' device available in your system.

   1.323 Perhaps Open Sound System is not installed or running.

   1.323 Failed to init OSS.

   1.323 No audio driver can be used. (error code: 1)

   1.323 Warning Display.cpp:52: Installing audio failed retrying...
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1099:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
   1.824 No '/dev/dsp' device available in your system.

   1.824 Perhaps Open Sound System is not installed or running.

   1.824 Failed to init OSS.

   1.824 No audio driver can be used. (error code: 1)

   1.824 Warning Display.cpp:52: Installing audio failed retrying...
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1099:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
   2.324 No '/dev/dsp' device available in your system.

   2.324 Perhaps Open Sound System is not installed or running.

   2.324 Failed to init OSS.

   2.324 No audio driver can be used. (error code: 1)

   2.324 Warning Display.cpp:52: Installing audio failed retrying...
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1099:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
   2.825 No '/dev/dsp' device available in your system.

   2.825 Perhaps Open Sound System is not installed or running.

   2.825 Failed to init OSS.

   2.825 No audio driver can be used. (error code: 1)

   2.825 Warning Display.cpp:52: Installing audio failed
   3.325 Graphics settings preset: high

braiam
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: Make factorio use pulse instead of alsa

Post by braiam »

If your operative system has padsp, you can run padsp ./factorio and it would then use pulse using OSS emulation.

Linux_user404
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 3:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Make factorio use pulse instead of alsa

Post by Linux_user404 »

I have faced the same problem after a system update. OSS has been removed from the recent kernel and was deprecated for quite some time. Not all users have PulseAudio, yet it is quite common.
If you are using steam and lazy typing that padsp each time you can add it to your launch options:

Code: Select all

padsp %command%
P.S. I'd prefer factorio not to use OSS since as far as I know it is deprecated. Switching to ALSA(or some higher level library) seems to be the most logical choice here.
P.P.S. I'd say this thread is named rather incorrectly. It should say "PulseAudio instead of OSS", not ALSA. OSS has been removed from the kernel recently and multiple distributions dropped its support. I imagine multiple users will face the same issue with Factorio soon and not all of them would like to dig into details.
http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/dis ... dsp.1.html
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/167 ... en-dev-dsp
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=99234
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/OSS

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”