Failed to initialize display device!

Anything that prevents you play the game properly. Do you have issues with paying for the game, downloading it or properly running it on your computer? Let us know here.

Failed to initialize display device!

Postby xcont » Sat Oct 07, 2017 4:44 pm

Hello. I can't start game. He said "Failed to initialize display device!"
Oh, yes, also I have read this forum.
Log-file said "Goodbye":

0.056 System info: [CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-6100 CPU @ 3.70GHz, 4 cores, RAM: 8088MB]
0.056 Display options: [FullScreen: 1] [VSync: 0] [UIScale: 100%] [MultiSampling: OFF] [Screen: 255] [Lang: ru]
0.056 Available display adapters: 1
0.056 [0]: \\.\DISPLAY1 - Intel(R) HD Graphics 530 {0x8000005, [0,0], 1920x1080, 32bit, 60Hz}
0.056 Create display on adapter 0. Size 1280x720 at position [310, 162].
0.058 D3D9: Skipping adapter 0 as it doesn't have any available modes.
0.058 D3D9: al_get_d3d_adapter_from_win_adapter failed. Using adapter -1 instead
0.061 d3d_create_display failed.

0.061 Failed to create display (NULL)
0.061 Error Util.cpp:62: Failed to initialize display device!
1.393 Goodbye


I have changed graphic mode in config.ini:

[graphics]
video-memory-usage=low
force-opengl=true
max-texture-size=2048
fullscreen=false


After that, it still said "Goodbye":

0.015 System info: [CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-6100 CPU @ 3.70GHz, 4 cores, RAM: 8088MB]
0.016 Display options: [FullScreen: 1] [VSync: 0] [UIScale: 100%] [MultiSampling: OFF] [Screen: 255] [Lang: ru]
0.016 Available display adapters: 1
0.016 [0]: \\.\DISPLAY1 - Intel(R) HD Graphics 530 {0x8000005, [0,0], 1920x1080, 32bit, 60Hz}
0.016 Create display on adapter 0. Size 1280x720 at position [310, 162].
0.039 WGL_ARB/EXT_pf not supported.
0.044 Allegro requires at least OpenGL version 1.2 to work.
0.046 Failed to create display (NULL)
0.046 Error Util.cpp:62: Failed to initialize display device!
4.106 Goodbye


I have latest Intel graphic driver on my system. Also, I was on Intel-forum, and they can't help me: https://communities.intel.com/thread/118417
xcont
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 4:29 pm
Location: Kiev

Re: Failed to initialize display device!

Postby daniel34 » Sat Oct 07, 2017 5:58 pm

There was a similar issue here: viewtopic.php?t=51352
Solution was to uninstall, then reinstall the graphics drivers.

But I see from the linked intel forum post that you already did that.
Have you tried this driver? It should include OpenGL 4.4.
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/25620/Intel-Graphics-Driver-for-Windows-7-8-1-10-15-40-6th-Gen-
daniel34
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2743
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:30 am
Location: Austria

Re: Failed to initialize display device!

Postby xcont » Sat Oct 07, 2017 6:44 pm

I have downloaded some funny program. And some funny program says, that I have Opengl 4.4:

Image

Image

Image
xcont
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 4:29 pm
Location: Kiev

Re: Failed to initialize display device!

Postby posila » Sun Oct 08, 2017 10:10 am

Can you post entire log file, please? It should contain exact OS version. I am interested in it so I can try to reproduce the problem. I don't have i3-6100 available, but I can try it with 6700K which should have HD Graphics 530 too.

EDIT:
I found this: https://forums.laptopvideo2go.com/topic ... e-support/
WGL_ARB_pixel_format has the entry point wglChoosePixelFormatARB missing!
WGL_ARB_pixel_format has the entry point wglGetPixelFormatAttribfvARB missing!
WGL_ARB_pixel_format has the entry point wglGetPixelFormatAttribivARB missing!

and it doesn't support WGL_EXT_pixel_format extension at all.

But I am more interested to find out why DirectX doesn't work
posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 2622
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Failed to initialize display device!

Postby Loewchen » Sun Oct 08, 2017 11:25 am

Based on the intel forum link: https://communities.intel.com/thread/118417 this sounds like a defect driver installation, or am I misunderstanding?
Impressively oblivious official intel support person btw...
Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 4500
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm

Re: Failed to initialize display device!

Postby xcont » Sun Oct 08, 2017 2:37 pm

posila wrote: It should contain exact OS version

Exact OS version in Intel report: http://xcont.com/report.txt
xcont
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 4:29 pm
Location: Kiev

Re: Failed to initialize display device!

Postby xcont » Tue Oct 10, 2017 12:01 am

This problem have no solutions?
xcont
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 4:29 pm
Location: Kiev

Re: Failed to initialize display device!

Postby daniel34 » Tue Oct 10, 2017 1:34 am

xcont wrote:This problem have no solutions?

Have you tried uninstalling all graphics drivers and then installing the one I mentioned in viewtopic.php?f=49&t=53218#p311294 ?

Try with both force-opengl enabled and disabled, and if any of the log files differ from what you already posted then please make a new post with the new log file.

Please also post your complete log file anyway, the first few lines tell us what version of Factorio you are running and what the arguments (if any) are.
daniel34
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2743
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:30 am
Location: Austria

Re: Failed to initialize display device!

Postby posila » Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:35 pm

So far I haven't been able for reproduce the issue on my computer nor figure out why it doesn't work for you.
We released 0.15.36, it contains more logs in area DirectX failing on your PC. Could you please change force-opengl back to false in config.ini and post log from the latest experimental version? (Switch to 0.15.x beta branch if you have the game on Steam)
posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 2622
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm


Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests