map-gen-settings.json

Anything that prevents you from playing the game properly. Do you have issues playing for the game, downloading it or successfully running it on your computer? Let us know here.
Post Reply
Zplinter
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:24 am
Contact:

map-gen-settings.json

Post by Zplinter »

I got myself a dedicated server, but messing around in the map-gen-settings.json, i have no clue what i can do here. or how to use it.

Code: Select all

{
  "_comment": "Sizes can be specified as none, very-low, low, normal, high, very-high",

  "terrain_segmentation": "normal",
  "water": "normal",
  "width": 0,
  "height": 0,
  "starting_area": "normal",
  "peaceful_mode": false,
  "autoplace_controls":
  {
    "coal": {"frequency": "normal", "size": "normal", "richness": "normal"},
    "copper-ore": {"frequency": "normal", "size": "normal", "richness": "normal"},
    "crude-oil": {"frequency": "normal", "size": "normal", "richness": "normal"},
    "enemy-base": {"frequency": "normal", "size": "normal", "richness": "normal"},
    "iron-ore": {"frequency": "normal", "size": "normal", "richness": "normal"},
    "stone": {"frequency": "normal", "size": "normal", "richness": "normal"}
  }
}
So where can i put my string? We need more info on this on wiki or somewhere,i cant find a link about it.

Thanks
Image

SyncViews
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: map-gen-settings.json

Post by SyncViews »

You following these instructions? https://wiki.factorio.com/Multiplayer#D ... ess_server

Its one of the command line parameters, relative to the directory you are running from.

Code: Select all

factorio --create saves/my-save.zip --map-gen-settings path-to-file-with-desired-map-generation-settings.json
Its the same for the server settings file (use --server-settings).

gacekssj4
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 9:54 pm
Contact:

Re: map-gen-settings.json

Post by gacekssj4 »

It's an old topic, i know. But first one in google when looking for map gen settings.

I thought it not everyone like console commands etc. So alternative solution to generate a map is to create game in-game (you can use preview and sliders in game )
Then save map and supply it when starting a dedicated server. If you do it not frequently it's faster than learning json settings. Hope it helps!

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”