Low FPS/UPS, PC hardware not being fully utilized

Anything that prevents you from playing the game properly. Do you have issues playing for the game, downloading it or successfully running it on your computer? Let us know here.
saltyspecula
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Low FPS/UPS, PC hardware not being fully utilized

Post by saltyspecula »

3 days ago, my game very suddenly slowed down to half or less of the FPS/UPS it used to have. It has remained slow ever since, despite system restarts, closing and reopening the game, updating hardware drivers and fiddling with graphics options.

Troubleshooting steps taken:
1: Reload earlier autosave.
2: Restart Factorio.
3: Restart PC.
4: Check and update GPU/CPU drivers.
5: Toggle off/on "Use flip presentation model"
6: Toggle off/on VSync
7: Turn off all graphics options.
8: Set video memory usage to "all".

None of these steps individually or in combination have had any effect. Monitoring my hardware's performance in HWMonitor, nothing is being throttled. While GPU memory comes close, it still isn't reaching over 90% with other things running in the background (youtube video).

I have attached the log and screenshot of both HWMonitor and the ingame stat readouts requested.

Save file is here:https://drive.google.com/file/d/1E2KJ6v ... drive_link

Any idea what's going on?
Attachments
Screenshot 2024-11-24 124017.png
Screenshot 2024-11-24 124017.png (54.45 KiB) Viewed 701 times
Screenshot 2024-11-24 123827.png
Screenshot 2024-11-24 123827.png (11.42 MiB) Viewed 701 times
factorio-current.log
(11.48 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
Last edited by saltyspecula on Sun Nov 24, 2024 2:26 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
IsaacOscar
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 841
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2024 2:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Low FPS/UPS, PC hardware not being fully utilized

Post by IsaacOscar »

Fyi, you didn't upload your save file.
If it is larger than 100MB, you'll need to upload to an external site (e.g. google drive)
saltyspecula
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Low FPS/UPS, PC hardware not being fully utilized

Post by saltyspecula »

Thanks for that, just realized it's a touch over 100mb. I've uploaded it to google drive and appended the link to the OP.
User avatar
Zymoran
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2024 5:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Low FPS/UPS, PC hardware not being fully utilized

Post by Zymoran »

saltyspecula wrote: Sun Nov 24, 2024 1:44 amNone of these steps individually or in combination have had any effect. Monitoring my hardware's performance in HWMonitor, nothing is being throttled. While GPU memory comes close, it still isn't reaching over 90% with other things running in the background (youtube video).
...
Any idea what's going on?
It's unlikely that the gpu is responsible for the slowdown.
Your cpu usage is about 25%, hinting that the performance core carrying the game is maxed out (factorio cannot use all your cores, so check if some caps at 100%).

Furthermore, it may be a good idea to track down what caused the dramatic slowdown (can be done if you have a save both prior to and after the slowdown).
saltyspecula
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Low FPS/UPS, PC hardware not being fully utilized

Post by saltyspecula »

Zymoran wrote: Sun Nov 24, 2024 2:45 am
saltyspecula wrote: Sun Nov 24, 2024 1:44 amNone of these steps individually or in combination have had any effect. Monitoring my hardware's performance in HWMonitor, nothing is being throttled. While GPU memory comes close, it still isn't reaching over 90% with other things running in the background (youtube video).
...
Any idea what's going on?
It's unlikely that the gpu is responsible for the slowdown.
Your cpu usage is about 25%, hinting that the performance core carrying the game is maxed out (factorio cannot use all your cores, so check if some caps at 100%).

Furthermore, it may be a good idea to track down what caused the dramatic slowdown (can be done if you have a save both prior to and after the slowdown).
I've had a look and uh... I'm not sure if HW is broken or not, but apparently "100%" utilisation isn't the max and the P cores are spiking as high as 175% and E cores as high as 145%. So these numbers give me no way of knowing if any cores are actually being fully utilised. I'm not overclocking either, all CPU settings in the BIOS are left at default.
User avatar
Zymoran
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2024 5:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Low FPS/UPS, PC hardware not being fully utilized

Post by Zymoran »

HW is usually broken for certain stats
Try just using task manager/performance/cpu to view individual cores/threads. Doesn't matter if you can see which are the E or P cores
saltyspecula
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Low FPS/UPS, PC hardware not being fully utilized

Post by saltyspecula »

Thanks, and yes one of the cores is being 100% utilised. So it looks like something is capping out this core.
saltyspecula
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Low FPS/UPS, PC hardware not being fully utilized

Post by saltyspecula »

I uh... Found the problem...

On Nauvis I had an automated production line set up to continuously manufacture construction and logistics robots. I then had them sent to a requestor chest that inserted them into a roboport to automatically add them to the logistics network.

Only problem with that is that when the bots were called on to do work,they would leave the roboport and the inserter put in a new replacement, which filled all the roboports up and left the drained bots nowhere to return to or charge. So I now have tightly packed clouds of thousands of dead robots around each roboport. <_<

Don't suppose there's a debug command to delete all logistics bots or something is there? <_<
User avatar
IsaacOscar
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 841
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2024 2:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Low FPS/UPS, PC hardware not being fully utilized

Post by IsaacOscar »

Sure,

Code: Select all

/c for _, bot of pairs(game.player.surface.find_entities_filtered{type = "logistic-robot"}) do bot.destroy() end
User avatar
IsaacOscar
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 841
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2024 2:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Low FPS/UPS, PC hardware not being fully utilized

Post by IsaacOscar »

Make sure you have the correct planet open.
You can also customise the area it destroys over:

Code: Select all

/c for _, bot of pairs(game.player.surface.find_entities_filtered{area={{minx, miny},{max, maxy}}, type = "logistic-robot"}) do bot.destroy() end
To get the {minx, miny} and {max, maxy} coordinates, go ctrl+alt-left mouse on the top-left, and bottom-right corners of the area you want.
saltyspecula
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Low FPS/UPS, PC hardware not being fully utilized

Post by saltyspecula »

Oh, scripts disable achievements... Alright, thanks for that. I guess I'm doing this the hard way...
User avatar
IsaacOscar
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 841
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2024 2:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Low FPS/UPS, PC hardware not being fully utilized

Post by IsaacOscar »

saltyspecula wrote: Sun Nov 24, 2024 8:18 am Oh, scripts disable achievements... Alright, thanks for that. I guess I'm doing this the hard way...
There are ways around this (if you don't mind "cheating").
saltyspecula
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Low FPS/UPS, PC hardware not being fully utilized

Post by saltyspecula »

IsaacOscar wrote: Sun Nov 24, 2024 8:20 am
saltyspecula wrote: Sun Nov 24, 2024 8:18 am Oh, scripts disable achievements... Alright, thanks for that. I guess I'm doing this the hard way...
There are ways around this (if you don't mind "cheating").
Thanks for that. I legitimately dug this hole for myself. Best I legitimately dig myself out of it. :roll:

Removed 5 roboports and several inventories full of drones. That's already given me an extra 15FPS/UPS. I see a lot of right clicking in my future.

Either way, the topic is resolved. Thanks for your help.
Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”