[Twinsen][1.0.0] Rounding discrepancy in production

We are aware of them, but they have low priority. We have more important things to do. They go here in order not to take space in the main bug thread list.
Post Reply
noclaf
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:28 am
Contact:

[Twinsen][1.0.0] Rounding discrepancy in production

Post by noclaf »

This bothers me a lot for some time. Triggering my OCD. Is it 2.6 or 2.7? 2.0 or 2.1? Looks like one number is trunc while the other round. And no, it's not flickering - it's sitting there rock solid for dozens of second, laughing into my face. :D
Screenshot 2020-12-21 230925.png
Screenshot 2020-12-21 230925.png (41.78 KiB) Viewed 559 times

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6652
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] Rounding discrepancy in production

Post by Loewchen »

Can you reproduce this in 1.1.6?

noclaf
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:28 am
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] Rounding discrepancy in production

Post by noclaf »

Loewchen wrote:
Mon Dec 21, 2020 10:19 pm
Can you reproduce this in 1.1.6?
Sorry, no, I'm running production. But you can test, Blueprint attached. It's only 21 12beaconed battery assemblers - creative mod used to create power supply and source ingredients.

In 5s stats, the "right" 1min production number flickers between 2.6 and 2.7 (as the 5s production flickers as well). But on 1min it's rock solid 2.7.
10mins the same - 10mins production 26k, 1min 2.7.

Screenshot 2020-12-22 123558.png
Screenshot 2020-12-22 123558.png (1.41 MiB) Viewed 481 times

User avatar
AmericanPatriot
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 663
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:47 am
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] Rounding discrepancy in production

Post by AmericanPatriot »

Maybe a little bit off topic, but the mod “editor extensions” is much better than creative mod.
Sarcasm and insults are generally neither helpful nor appreciated. :D

User avatar
ptx0
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 665
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 7:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] Rounding discrepancy in production

Post by ptx0 »

noclaf wrote:
Tue Dec 22, 2020 11:38 am
Loewchen wrote:
Mon Dec 21, 2020 10:19 pm
Can you reproduce this in 1.1.6?
Sorry, no, I'm running production. But you can test,
that's not how bug reporting works.

if you want the issue fixed you should test it - it's your issue, after all. if you don't want it fixed then you should just ignore what they asked you for.

all bugfixes go into the 1.1 branch, no reason fixing something that's already been fixed or that the original reporter doesn't care enough to test.

Xorimuth
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 9:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] Rounding discrepancy in production

Post by Xorimuth »

ptx0 wrote:
Wed Jan 06, 2021 4:14 pm
noclaf wrote:
Tue Dec 22, 2020 11:38 am
Loewchen wrote:
Mon Dec 21, 2020 10:19 pm
Can you reproduce this in 1.1.6?
Sorry, no, I'm running production. But you can test,
that's not how bug reporting works.

if you want the issue fixed you should test it - it's your issue, after all. if you don't want it fixed then you should just ignore what they asked you for.

all bugfixes go into the 1.1 branch, no reason fixing something that's already been fixed or that the original reporter doesn't care enough to test.
That's debatable. Of course if the OP really wants a bug fixed then the best way of speeding up the process is to test on experimental and do everything else as requested. OTOH if you view it as the dev's problem then it doesn't seem unreasonable to put the burden onto them (as long as the reproduction steps are clear enough so that they could replicate it if they try - which they are here).

Anyway, I can confirm the same behaviour in 1.1.6, and here's the Editor Extensions version of the same blueprint in case you are allergic to the creative mod :D


Twinsen
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1209
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:10 am
Contact:

Re: [Twinsen][1.0.0] Rounding discrepancy in production

Post by Twinsen »

I'm afraid it's one of those things you have to get used to, or those small inner-workings of the game you need to keep in mind.

Slots and slot buttons almost always draw their count as floor throughout the entire GUI. This is because... of reasons, mainly because seeing 1.4k items in a chest when in fact there are only 1355 can lead to confusing situations more often than if it showed 1.3k.
Meanwhile in the per minute statistics it makes sense to round.

So, the game is inconsistent for the sake of consistency :)

noclaf
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:28 am
Contact:

Re: [Twinsen][1.0.0] Rounding discrepancy in production

Post by noclaf »

So sad, much worry, like not, doge frown!

Thanks for looking into it. I will try to activate my inner zen each time my eye starts twitching seeing this in the game. I will close my eyes and think of England (and the bigger good). :lol:

Post Reply

Return to “Minor issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users