Scheduled service maintenance - September 22, 7:00 am UTC

Regular reports on Factorio development.
Post Reply
User avatar
HanziQ
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 630
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 7:07 am
Contact:

Scheduled service maintenance - September 22, 7:00 am UTC

Post by HanziQ » Wed Sep 21, 2016 2:01 pm

On September 22, starting at 7:00 am UTC (9:00 am CEST, 12:00 am PDT, 3:00 am EDT, http://everytimezone.com/#2016-9-21,1140,cn3), lasting approximately 30-60 minutes, we will be conducting a database maintenance, resulting in the outage of the following services:
  • Main website - factorio.com
  • Authentication services
  • Mod portal
  • Public server browser
  • Standalone game updater
The following services will not be affected:
  • Factorio Forums
  • Factorio Wiki
Thank you for understanding

henke37
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 5:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Scheduled service maintenance - September 22, 7:00 am UTC

Post by henke37 » Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:16 pm

So the forum and wiki run on a separate database then? Well, I am mere programmer, not a system admin.

iamwyza
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 2:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Scheduled service maintenance - September 22, 7:00 am UTC

Post by iamwyza » Wed Sep 21, 2016 8:02 pm

henke37 wrote:So the forum and wiki run on a separate database then? Well, I am mere programmer, not a system admin.
This is not uncommon. This forum runs on PHPBB, so it's entirely likely it runs on it's own DB. The wiki also probably runs MediaWiki, which again is going to have it's own DB. I imagine the main site/mod portal/game server stuff is all in house/custom which would allow for a nice integrated DB.

vanatteveldt
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 918
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 11:44 am
Contact:

Re: Scheduled service maintenance - September 22, 7:00 am UTC

Post by vanatteveldt » Thu Sep 22, 2016 6:34 am

Anybody sane keeps things as separate as possible to avoid e.g. a security problem on the forum software from causing problems in the game server and to allow maximum flexibility in setting up the in-house configuration. Also, off-the-shelf software for wiki's and fora often are easiest to run with mysql, which is not always the DB for choice for more heavy production usage.

User avatar
HanziQ
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 630
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 7:07 am
Contact:

Re: Scheduled service maintenance - September 22, 7:00 am UTC

Post by HanziQ » Thu Sep 22, 2016 7:43 am

Maintenance is now over.

Post Reply

Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users