[All ver, also 15.5] FPS drop in full-screen (even menus)

Place for things which are bugs but we have no idea how to solve them. Things related to hardware, libraries, strange setups, etc.
Post Reply
jaworeq
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 8:56 am
Contact:

[All ver, also 15.5] FPS drop in full-screen (even menus)

Post by jaworeq »

Hi,

Game works with perfect 60 FPS when I'm in windowed/maximized mode, but goes sub-40 in full screen, even in the menus, without launching the actual map.
Turning v-sync off solves the issue, but I dont think that should be my go-to option...?

Please note it's the first time I launched the game since early 0.14. I had my 144Hz monitor back then, but it was connected with DisplayPort I think.
Since then I got Vive and had to rework my setup a bit:
1 - Main display - 144Hz monitor - connected with DVI
2 + 3 - secondary monitor (DVI) cloned to TV (HDMI)
4 - Vive connected with DisplayPort (actually just vivebox, headset is not connected)

I use this setup for over 6 months now and it hasn't been an issue with any other game - hell, it's not even issue with factorio, unless I go full-screen with V-sync ON.
If you guys can figure something out, all help is appreciated. Thanks!
Attachments
Factorio.zip
appdata\factorio without saves
(170.28 KiB) Downloaded 49 times

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 7016
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [All ver, also 15.5] FPS drop in full-screen (even menus)

Post by Loewchen »

Code: Select all

   0.005 2017-04-30 22:40:54; Factorio 0.15.5 (build 29304, win64, steam)
   0.005 Operating system: Windows 7 Service Pack 1
   0.005 Program arguments: "L:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\Factorio\bin\x64\Factorio.exe" 
   0.005 Read data path: L:/SteamLibrary/steamapps/common/Factorio/data
   0.005 Write data path: C:/Users/Damian/AppData/Roaming/Factorio
   0.006 Binaries path: L:/SteamLibrary/steamapps/common/Factorio/bin
   0.017 System info: [CPU:         Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz, 8 cores, RAM: 16345MB]
   0.017 Display options: [FullScreen: 1] [VSync: 1] [UIScale: 100%] [MultiSampling: OFF] [Screen: 1]
   0.018 Available display adapters: 2
   0.019  [0]: \\.\DISPLAY1 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 {0x01, [1920,0], 1920x1080, 32bit, 30Hz}
   0.019  [1]: \\.\DISPLAY2 - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 {0x05, [0,0], 1920x1080, 32bit, 144Hz}
   0.019 Create display on adapter 1. Size 1280x720 at position [310, 162].
   1.073 Initialised Direct3D:[0] NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970; driver: nvd3dumx.dll 22.21.13.8189
   1.079     Video memory size (dedicated video/dedicated system/shared system/available): 4008/0/7916/3717 MB
   1.139 DSound: Starting _dsound_update thread
   1.139 DSound: Enter _dsound_update; tid=6776
   1.140 Device reset internal.
   1.158 Graphics settings preset: very-high
   1.160 Graphics options: [Graphics quality: normal] [Video memory usage: high] [Light scale: 100%] [DXT: false]
   1.291 Loading mod core 0.0.0 (data.lua)
   1.305 Loading mod base 0.15.5 (data.lua)
   1.422 Loading mod base 0.15.5 (data-updates.lua)
   1.568 Checksum for core: 2926038370
   1.568 Checksum of base: 2698305660
   1.695 Info PlayerData.cpp:55: Local player-data.json available, timestamp 1493584849
   1.696 Info PlayerData.cpp:60: Cloud player-data.json available, timestamp 1493582712
   1.809 Loaded shader file L:/SteamLibrary/steamapps/common/Factorio/data/core/graphics/shaders/game.cso
   1.810 Loaded shader file L:/SteamLibrary/steamapps/common/Factorio/data/core/graphics/shaders/zoom-to-world.cso
   1.850 Initial atlas bitmap size is 16384
   1.853 Created atlas bitmap 16384x7695
   2.192 Created atlas bitmap 4096x1860
   2.201 Created atlas bitmap 4096x3648
  11.204 Sprites loaded
  11.204 Convert atlas 4096x1860 to: trilinear-filtering 
  11.241 Convert atlas 4096x3648 to: mipmap 
  11.541 Loading sounds...
  13.789 Custom inputs active: 0
  13.826 Factorio initialised
  19.217 Loading Level.dat: 923591 bytes.
  19.217 Info Scenario.cpp:133: Map version 0.15.5-1
  19.263 Checksum for script C:/Users/Damian/AppData/Roaming/Factorio/temp/currently-playing/control.lua: 76911248
  45.034 DSound: Stopping voice
  45.034 DSound: Joining thread
  45.036 DSound: Exit _dsound_update; tid=6776
  45.036 DSound: Waiting for voice to stop ... signaled
  45.036 DSound: Joined thread
  45.036 DSound: Destroying thread
  45.036 DSound: Thread destroyed
  45.036 DSound: Releasing buffer
  45.036 DSound: Voice stopped
  45.036 DSound: Deallocating voice
  45.036 DSound: Deallocated voice
  45.112 Steam API shutdown.
  45.114 Goodbye


jaworeq
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 8:56 am
Contact:

Re: [All ver, also 15.5] FPS drop in full-screen (even menus)

Post by jaworeq »

I saw that post, but I don't have G-sync available monitor, so this option doesn't even show in my nvidia panel. My monitor does support some "freesync" thing, but whenever I open monitor panel, it says it's off.

I tried to play around with V-sync option in Nvidia panel, but none of the option gave any change (except for "Fast" option failing factorio at launch :D)
Attachments
freesync + fps
freesync + fps
20170501_103630.jpg (1.4 MiB) Viewed 1777 times

Twinsen
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:10 am
Contact:

Re: [All ver, also 15.5] FPS drop in full-screen (even menus)

Post by Twinsen »

Please start a small map(10x10), press F4 and select "show-time-usage".
Make s screenshot of those numbers.

Do this only if you still have a big fps drop.

jaworeq
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 8:56 am
Contact:

Re: [All ver, also 15.5] FPS drop in full-screen (even menus)

Post by jaworeq »

SS attached.
Attachments
time-usage
time-usage
20170502153331_1.jpg (225.72 KiB) Viewed 1721 times

Twinsen
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:10 am
Contact:

Re: [All ver, also 15.5] FPS drop in full-screen (even menus)

Post by Twinsen »

It seems to be our typical v-sync problem, but it's a bit weird we see it on gtx970.

Best I can say is disable vsync. We won't have a fix for it any time soon.

Post Reply

Return to “1 / 0 magic”