Is it possible to make ores grow?

Place to post guides, observations, things related to modding that are not mods themselves.
Zillo7
Inserter
Inserter

Is it possible to make ores grow?

Post by Zillo7 »

I would like to make a mod where there's a single ore type that expands over time. I think I've made the recipes that I want to use, but I don't know how to make the ores grow. I've briefly looked through the API, but I'm not sure how to find tiles that have an ore on them, or how to place individual ore chunks. Is this even possible if I come up with some kind of lua script? (I've never used lua before, but I've used C#)

bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Re: Is it possible to make ores grow?

Post by bobingabout »

Tiberium!!!

As far as I know there is no native mechanic to allow such a thing, however, the scripting interface is quite versatile, though can be quite processing power hungry.

The problems you'll face is that first, you need to find out if ore exists before you can make it grow, which will require some form a map scan. This is a VERY EXPENSIVE operation to perform, so you'll want to run it very sparingly, which means you're going to want to perform the operation only once on sector generation, and store any ores found in your global table.

You'll probably need to repeat this procedure, or at least account for the possibility of someone, or another script running a regenerate_entity script (This is often used to create ores on existing maps. it was used in 0.15 to spawn uranium for example)

You then would need to perform an on_tick operation to check each piece of ore in your database and either increase it's size, or generate a new piece in an adjacent tile. Don't forget to add the new entity to your table too.