Controller modding guide / FAQ

Place to post guides, observations, things related to modding that are not mods themselves.
raiguard
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff

Controller modding guide / FAQ

Post by raiguard »

Factorio 1.1.83 has added support for game controllers to the PC version of the game. Naturally, this new control scheme may cause issues with mods, so this guide is intended to help ease the process of adapting mods to support controllers if needed.

I'm a mod author, what does this mean for me?

For the vast majority of mods, nothing! Controller support is written in such a way that it works with most mods out of the box. However, while mods may function, they may not be very convenient to use, especially if they have custom GUIs.

How does this affect existing input bindings?

Game controller input bindings are kept separately from keyboard/mouse bindings, so existing bindings will not be affected. Furthermore, changes made to one input method's bindings will not affect the other. Mods with custom-inputs will need to define defaults for each input method separately.

How do I assign default controller bindings to custom-inputs?

custom-input has gained two new properties: controller_key_sequence and controller_alt_key_sequence. Formatting-wise these work identically to key_sequence and alt_key_sequence.

Controllers use different button names from keyboard/mouse. For convenience, here is a diagram of controller buttons to their respective internal names. Binding a custom-input to a button is as simple as using that button's internal name:

Code: Select all

controller_key_sequence = "controller-y"
A note about setting default bindings