Need some help with a script

This is the place to request new mods or give ideas about what could be done.
LoneWolf_LWP
Inserter
Inserter

Need some help with a script

Post by LoneWolf_LWP »

Could someone help me with a script?

I want to dump this information from my active mods recipes to a file but all examples i find give me a different type of string.
I believe these are called the localised names but i find no examples on them how to find them using a script.

I'm new to scripting for factorio, I try to learn from small examples.
Thank you,

https://imgur.com/a/pS4eg9X

Pi-C
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Re: Need some help with a script

Post by Pi-C »

LoneWolf_LWP wrote:
Sat Jan 22, 2022 12:46 am
Could someone help me with a script?

I want to dump this information from my active mods recipes to a file but all examples i find give me a different type of string.
I believe these are called the localised names but i find no examples on them how to find them using a script.
If you want to do this in the data stage:

Code: Select all

for r, recipe in pairs(data.raw.recipes) do 
  log("Name: "..r.."\tlocalised_name: "..serpent.line(recipe.localised_name))
end
In the control stage:

for r, recipe in pairs(game.recipe_prototypes) do
  log({"", "Name: "..r, "\tlocalised_name: "..serpent.line(recipe.localised_name), "\tLocalised name: ", recipe.localised_name})
end
A good mod deserves a good changelog. Here's a tutorial (WIP) about Factorio's way too strict changelog syntax!

LoneWolf_LWP
Inserter
Inserter

Post by LoneWolf_LWP »

First of all thank you for your time,

for r, recipe in pairs(game.recipe_prototypes) do
  log({"", "Name: "..r, "\tlocalised_name: "..serpent.line(recipe.localised_name), "\tLocalised name: ", recipe.localised_name})
end
This indeed works like I would like it to work but it's throwing it in the log file and i'm trying to get it in script-output to get a clean version

it kinda defaulted back to what i have and am struggling with.