[WIP][0.11.22] Homeworld

An archive of many old mods and or old mod discussions.
If a topic is revived, please make a report and ask to move it someplace better.

[WIP][0.11.22] Homeworld

Postby ljdp » Wed Jul 01, 2015 8:26 am

Homeworld changes the main objective of Factorio.
You must supply resources to your homeworld so that civilization can be restored.
Over time the population on the homeworld will require different needs as they progress through six tiers.
Reach a population of 100K at tier 6 to win.


Image
You first spawn next to a portal. This is the portal to the homeland, you can't travel through it but you can send items into it. You start with a 15 minute grace period to get things running.

Image
Once the portal is online the homeworld interface appears. In order for the population to grow you need to meet all the needs, if any of the needs are less than 15% satisfied the population will start to decline. In this case, once the population reaches above 5000 it will progress to tier 2 and it's needs will expand.

Homeworld adds a bunch of new production chains and buildings. One of which is the food production chain, which introduces the fishery that must be placed next to a source of water with fish. Farms yield crops depending on the pollution and soil richness.
Image

Your people also love to drink. You'll want to start producing wine as early as possible as it takes a long time to mature.
Image

There's also a production chain for building materials, which involves the sawmill and mining sand.
If you give this mod a whirl let me know how you get on :)

Todo/Possible features:
  • balancing
  • entity sprites
  • random needs / upgrade requirements
  • biter meat (a delicacy)
  • Notes from home?
  • make sure it works in multiplayer

Known Issues:
  • sometimes (not always) factorio will crash after an autosave
  • there is no actual end game state (tier 6 not yet implemented)
  • the game will error if it can't find a suitable spot to place the portal when you spawn. Fix: Regenerate the map.

Download:
Last edited by ljdp on Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:48 pm, edited 7 times in total.
ljdp
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:33 am

Re: [WIP] Homeworld

Postby ljdp » Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:46 pm

I forgot to add the recipe for the distillery. If you've already started a game with homeworld, update the mod, reload the game and enter this command into chat
Code: Select all
/c game.player.force.resettechnologies()


If you're reading this and haven't downloaded homeworld yet, it's already updated ;)
ljdp
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:33 am

Re: [WIP] Homeworld

Postby ljdp » Wed Jul 01, 2015 1:58 pm

Update to v0.0.2
Added sand collector.
Added synthetic sand recipe (5x wood + 5x plastic bar -> 20x wood).
Lowered sand richness.
Changed technology requirements.

https://github.com/perky/factorio-homeworld/releases/tag/v0.0.2
ljdp
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:33 am

Re: [WIP] Homeworld

Postby StanFear » Wed Jul 01, 2015 2:49 pm

interesting,
will probably try it someday soon

just some suggestions :
  • factorio is about automating (i'm sur you're aware of that :p) so the idea you have about bitters' meat does not seem right to me (even more if you need a constant income of it)
  • the fishing building, maybe you could make it have to go on water (if you don't know how to do it, take a look at cursed-exp, th'ere is a building that is placed on watter in it)
  • for the crash about the portal not finding a suitable place to pop, maybe (again) takre a look at cursed-exp which make a building apear at game start
User avatar
StanFear
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 2:49 pm

Re: [WIP] Homeworld

Postby ljdp » Wed Jul 01, 2015 2:58 pm

StanFear wrote:interesting,
will probably try it someday soon

just some suggestions :
  • factorio is about automating (i'm sur you're aware of that :p) so the idea you have about bitters' meat does not seem right to me (even more if you need a constant income of it)
  • the fishing building, maybe you could make it have to go on water (if you don't know how to do it, take a look at cursed-exp, th'ere is a building that is placed on watter in it)
  • for the crash about the portal not finding a suitable place to pop, maybe (again) takre a look at cursed-exp which make a building apear at game start


If I was to implement biter meat, I'd try to come up with some sort of system where robots can automatically pick up the meat. You could technically create a biter farm by creating a large perimeter wall around some spawners and turrets far enough to kill the biters but not the spawners.

I've just implemented placing the fishery on water, you need to use the long-handed inserter to reach it. It'll be in the next release. Thanks for the tip about cursed-exp, I'll take a look.
ljdp
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:33 am

Re: [WIP] Homeworld

Postby DoctorWho? » Wed Jul 01, 2015 8:08 pm

Can you pleade say what version this mod is for? It seems interesting, but I'm not sure what version it's for, and if it will work with the newest version :D
DoctorWho?
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:42 am

Re: [WIP] Homeworld

Postby StanFear » Thu Jul 02, 2015 7:14 am

ljdp wrote:Thanks for the tip about cursed-exp, I'll take a look.



no problems, also, you probably could make the fisher a 2 step process, using pipes to send fishes to a treatment facility on the ground to do something (probably a bad idea for tier 1 items though :))
User avatar
StanFear
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 2:49 pm

Re: [WIP][0.11.22] Homeworld

Postby Finnboghi » Thu Jul 02, 2015 11:04 pm

EDIT - I'm an idiot, 30 seconds of digging uncovered the Test Mode mod. Downloaded and installed, and it works fine now.

You might want to mention that Test Mode is required, though.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Does this mod use any resources from any other mods?

I really want to try it out, but I get an exception when it tries to load:

__test-mode__/styles/gui.png does not match any mod.

I've tried reinstalling Factorio, as well as redownloading the mod. I'm running 0.11.22, and have never used any other mods.

Any idea what test-mode is referring to?
Finnboghi
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:35 pm

Re: [WIP][0.11.22] Homeworld

Postby Neotix » Fri Jul 03, 2015 9:40 am

I had suggestion to make something similar viewtopic.php?f=6&t=13219
Instead of sending goods to homeworld, just build colony on planet. I will definitely try your mod.
Neotix
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 629
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:56 pm

Re: [WIP][0.11.22] Homeworld

Postby ljdp » Sun Jul 05, 2015 9:39 pm

I've been sanity checking the needs using the excellent foreman tool. See below for a flowchart of what you'll need, currently, for the end of the last tier.

http://i.imgur.com/fxQMnKH.png
Tier5
Image


On the one hand, I want to encourage players to have, by the endgame, massive factories taking up a lot of space. On the other, I'm a terrible factorio player I don't know if these values are even possible. So I'll ask, what's the highest production rates (per minute) you've gotten in factorio for iron, copper, stone, coal and oil?
ljdp
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:33 am

Re: [WIP][0.11.22] Homeworld

Postby Shanix » Sun Jul 05, 2015 11:51 pm

Looking at some of my old factories, I'd say those values are reasonable. I've hit ~5k/min on iron and copper plates before, but I've never had that high of stone input without running out in a few minutes. I'd venture and say those are viable values.
Shanix
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 12:52 am

Re: [WIP][0.11.22] Homeworld

Postby Koub » Mon Jul 06, 2015 5:37 am

The thing is you rarely keep mining stone hardcore style in vanilla, because its use is limited. If you needed more stone, you'd mine more :).
btw those quantities are OK, nothing unreachable.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.
Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Location: France

Re: [WIP] Homeworld

Postby Nafen » Mon Jul 06, 2015 11:33 am

ljdp wrote:Update to v0.0.2
Added sand collector.
Added synthetic sand recipe (5x wood + 5x plastic bar -> 20x wood).


20x wood? Shouldn't it say sand? :P
Nafen
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 2:53 pm

Re: [WIP][0.11.22] Homeworld

Postby cpy » Mon Jul 06, 2015 11:44 am

Synthetic sand? If it's anything like Earth, you'd have problem not finding sand.
User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 672
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am

Re: [WIP] Homeworld

Postby ljdp » Mon Jul 06, 2015 12:36 pm

Nafen wrote:
ljdp wrote:Update to v0.0.2
Added sand collector.
Added synthetic sand recipe (5x wood + 5x plastic bar -> 20x wood).


20x wood? Shouldn't it say sand? :P


lol. That's a typo, it should say synthetic wood. Also I've changed that to 1x raw wood + 1x plastic -> 30x wood.
ljdp
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:33 am

Re: [WIP][0.11.22] Homeworld

Postby Dreadicon » Sat Mar 05, 2016 10:04 pm

So, I was trying to update this mod for the breaking game.on_* change to script.on_* and found that there's a second breaking change with no obvious easy fix: the removal of .on_save

the game's OnGameSave() function which is called from .on_save is as follows:
Code: Select all
local function OnGameSave()
   global.actors = actors
   global.guiButtonCallbacks = GUI.buttonCallbacks
   global.difficulty = difficulty

   WaterDrain.OnSave()
end


I'm sure WaterDrain.OnSave is likewise converting local variables to global. Any ideas for fixes? would making the former local variables all global break anything? Thanks!
Dreadicon
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:06 am

Re: [WIP][0.11.22] Homeworld

Postby StanFear » Sun Mar 06, 2016 10:41 am

Dreadicon wrote: would making the former local variables all global break anything? Thanks!



it shouldn't
the game will handle it correctly, just check that there are no conflics after doing that in the mod !
User avatar
StanFear
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 2:49 pm

Re: [WIP][0.11.22] Homeworld

Postby Quazar » Wed Apr 20, 2016 1:46 am

This seems fun!

I got an error with 0.0.2 (that I didn't get with your previous), and the game won't even start!

2.416 Error Util.cpp:58: Error while loading entity prototype "sand-source" (resource): No such node (width)

Homeworld 0.0.2, Factorio 0.12.30
Quazar
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 4:12 pm

Re: [WIP][0.11.22] Homeworld

Postby Roktaal » Wed Apr 20, 2016 1:59 am

You are using old version of this mod. New version can be found here: viewtopic.php?f=94&t=23170
User avatar
Roktaal
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 6:42 pm

Re: [WIP][0.11.22] Homeworld

Postby Quazar » Wed Apr 20, 2016 2:14 am

Whoops, thanks!

I wonder if this thread can be locked... doh!
Quazar
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 4:12 pm

Next

Return to Mod Archive

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests