Version 0.17.5

Information about releases and roadmap.
jpveix
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by jpveix » Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:48 pm

Raphaello wrote:
Mon Mar 04, 2019 7:05 pm
It is indeed a huge buff to mining productivity. I immediately went from +20% (level 10 researched) to +60% after upgrade with only level 1 researched and level 2 of mining productivity reseachable for 1000 RGB science.
Also, as others have already mentioned, the new mining productivity is very cheap now.

It is worrying and potentially save breaking. I think the change from +2% per tech to +10% is a good idea but making the new tech so cheap simply breaks the balance in the game.
I know that putting tens or even hundreds of hours into a game might make you "worried" about breaking saves but the game is still in the testing phase. The devs should not put to much time in making sure our saves are alway perfect and runnable.

The focus needs to be on iteration and bug fixing (which they seem to be doing at a VERY rapid pace!). We (should) all know what a 0.X release entails.

Thrall
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 8:18 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by Thrall » Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:50 pm

Was wondering: is the expected ressources tooltip taking the bonus into account or not? also the minimap tooltip, is it with mining prod bonus or without

ManaUser
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by ManaUser » Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:59 pm

Upgrade question: I normally use the Windows Zip downloads. Until the updater is working again, is extracting a new version on top of the old an acceptable way to upgrade? Or will this have any weird side-effects?

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3566
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by orzelek » Mon Mar 04, 2019 11:11 pm

ManaUser wrote:
Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:59 pm
Upgrade question: I normally use the Windows Zip downloads. Until the updater is working again, is extracting a new version on top of the old an acceptable way to upgrade? Or will this have any weird side-effects?
I did a clean one on 0.17.0 and overwrite on all subsequent ones without problems.

pichutarius
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:47 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by pichutarius » Mon Mar 04, 2019 11:17 pm

that mining productivity is a significantly buff!

the cost went from around (5 level)^2 to 5 (level)^2
thats about 5x cheaper. (but i like the change)

to make it asymptotically equivalent, the cost should be 25x, but that seems abit expensive for low level. maybe 15x ~ 20x
Last edited by pichutarius on Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:07 am, edited 2 times in total.

ManaUser
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by ManaUser » Mon Mar 04, 2019 11:17 pm

orzelek wrote:
Mon Mar 04, 2019 11:11 pm
I did a clean one on 0.17.0 and overwrite on all subsequent ones without problems.
Alright, that's exactly what I did too.

someone1337
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by someone1337 » Mon Mar 04, 2019 11:35 pm

Plz fix: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=66470

or at least make it consistent

Boogieman14
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 12:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by Boogieman14 » Mon Mar 04, 2019 11:52 pm

Loving the dev team. Came to the forums tonight to report a bug in .4. Noticed .5 was released, upgraded, bug seems fixed (although none of the bugfixes listed jump out as related: blueprint placing a medium electric pole on some cliffs didn't mark the cliff for destruction in .4, it did in .5)
I don't have OCD, I have CDO. It's the same, but with the letters in the correct order.

Hiladdar
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by Hiladdar » Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:49 am

It may be that there is an unexpected consequence with this patch.

I am experiencing a large number of issues loading games saved in 16.xx with this patch both with mods and without mods. In all cases, I can load up the saved game in version 16.51, and save it in 16.51. The symptoms are an error message of "Couldn't read Input file, file may be corrupted." and for some games with mods the even crashes attempting to load in a game producing factorio-current.log file.

I am including one of my early abandoned games from using version 16.51. This game loads into 16.51 without any issues, but generates the above listed message in 17.5. I did not have any issues loading earlier version games into 17.4.

To test this, I did two clean installs, one of version 17.4 and one of version 17.5. I was able to load this game without any issues into 17.4 but the same saved game produced the above corrupted file message attempting to load it into 17.5. Additional testing I did was take the same game, load it into 17.4, then save it under a different name. I was able to load the same game once it was resaved as a 17.4 game without any issues.

The attached game is a short abandoned game, (6.1MB), without any mods, that I can upload into 17.4 and earlier but not 17.5.

I guess that is why the term "bleeding edge of technology" applies here while dealing with an experimental version. Looking forward to version 17.6.

Hiladdar
Attachments
G6 as 51.zip
(6.13 MiB) Downloaded 11 times

Mr. Tact
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 433
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by Mr. Tact » Tue Mar 05, 2019 2:18 am

Thanks for doing all that work, Hiladdar. I saw a similar problem with a large save game I've shuttled through from the 0.15 launch -- but knew I would need to set some time aside to do what you did.
Professional Curmudgeon since 1988.

barbary
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 10:31 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by barbary » Tue Mar 05, 2019 5:04 am

kovarex wrote:
Mon Mar 04, 2019 9:51 pm
Yes, asymptotically it was actually 5 times cheaper. So I fixed it for 0.17.6.
The cost will be like this:
Level 1: 250 (red + green)
Level 2: 500 (+blue)
Level 3: 1000 (+purple+yellow)
of level 4+ is (level - 3) * 2500
As somebody at level 2886 I got to say I just don't see the need for the change I thought it was perfect as it was.

I guess I don't need the Research Q now as my next Mining Productivity Research will be 7 Million plus.

Please tell me I'm not going to lose all my past research as I did with Laser Turrets.

User avatar
invisus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 5:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by invisus » Tue Mar 05, 2019 5:44 am

Hiladdar wrote:
Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:49 am
It may be that there is an unexpected consequence with this patch.

I've hit this too and it looks like it's already been reported. Hopefully this will be fixed in 0.17.6.

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=66718

shlelieveld
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by shlelieveld » Tue Mar 05, 2019 7:46 am

Hi gents, devs, and players.

I have a strainge thing.
I started a new Island World with my son (running on a docker container factorio server) initially made on 0.17.4 and played for like an hour or 2 no problem at all.
Today I updated both the server side and my client (on Fedora 29 Linux) to 0.17.5 and when loading the MP map O get a weird error message:
Screenshot from 2019-03-05 08-43-32_Cropped.png
Screenshot from 2019-03-05 08-43-32_Cropped.png (135.08 KiB) Viewed 953 times
This is after I enterred the IP, and the sequencial password that is required. It downloads the map and wham....
I loaded the map locally and resaved it and no problem. Only through the MultiPlayer game I got this.
I will test it later today on a Windows Client version. (prepairing it now). Are there more people with this issue?

Thanks.

shlelieveld
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by shlelieveld » Tue Mar 05, 2019 8:49 am

shlelieveld wrote:
Tue Mar 05, 2019 7:46 am
Hi gents, devs, and players.

I have a strainge thing.
I started a new Island World with my son (running on a docker container factorio server) initially made on 0.17.4 and played for like an hour or 2 no problem at all.
Today I updated both the server side and my client (on Fedora 29 Linux) to 0.17.5 and when loading the MP map O get a weird error message:
Screenshot from 2019-03-05 08-43-32_Cropped.png

This is after I entered the IP, and the sequential password that is required. It downloads the map and wham....
I loaded the map locally and resaved it and no problem. Only through the MultiPlayer game I got this.
I will test it later today on a Windows Client version. (prepairing it now). Are there more people with this issue?

Thanks.
I completely removed the whole game from my Linux System and after unpacking the new tar.xz file it seems to work just fine again.
Something with manual updating which is going bad when just overwriting all files...
So lesson learned. :) Sorry for the confusion, may this help others with similar issues as well...

Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1878
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by Bilka » Tue Mar 05, 2019 8:53 am

shlelieveld wrote:
Tue Mar 05, 2019 8:49 am
I completely removed the whole game from my Linux System and after unpacking the new tar.xz file it seems to work just fine again.
Something with manual updating which is going bad when just overwriting all files...
So lesson learned. :) Sorry for the confusion, may this help others with similar issues as well...
We deleted 2 migration files, if you just overwrite it won't get rid of those. Once the automatic updater works again you should use that instead.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

shlelieveld
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by shlelieveld » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:27 am

[/quote]
We deleted 2 migration files, if you just overwrite it won't get rid of those. Once the automatic updater works again you should use that instead.
[/quote]
Ok thanks that is indeed better than manually unpacking and overwriting files :)

Nefrums
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 12:57 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by Nefrums » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:38 am

kovarex wrote:
Mon Mar 04, 2019 9:51 pm
Yes, asymptotically it was actually 5 times cheaper. So I fixed it for 0.17.6.
The cost will be like this:
Level 1: 250 (red + green)
Level 2: 500 (+blue)
Level 3: 1000 (+purple+yellow)
of level 4+ is (level - 3) * 2500

I like this!
Could you also consider bringing the research time of level 1 to be more allingned with other red/green techs?
Most of the other upgrade techs are 30s for the first level(s)

barbary
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 10:31 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by barbary » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:57 am

I feel that the way your upgrading Mining Productivity is incorrect.

I would expect for you to calculate the amount of Science Packs burnt to get to that level then equate that number against the new formula.

That way if getting to a level is cheaper I get a higher level if it's now more expensive I would get a lower one.

Currently though is still better than losing it all like the Laser Turret Damage.

Nefrums
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 12:57 am
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by Nefrums » Tue Mar 05, 2019 10:39 am

Nefrums wrote:
Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:38 am
kovarex wrote:
Mon Mar 04, 2019 9:51 pm
Yes, asymptotically it was actually 5 times cheaper. So I fixed it for 0.17.6.
The cost will be like this:
Level 1: 250 (red + green)
Level 2: 500 (+blue)
Level 3: 1000 (+purple+yellow)
of level 4+ is (level - 3) * 2500

I like this!
Could you also consider bringing the research time of level 1 to be more allingned with other red/green techs?
Most of the other upgrade techs are 30s for the first level(s)
I checked this a bit closer, and the upgrade tech research times are a bit inconsistent.

All damage and shooting speed and bot upgrades: level 1-2: 30s, level 3+: 60s
Inserter capacity and lab speed: 30s for all levels.
Mining efficiency: 60s for all levels.

I think that it might be better to make this more consistent so all upgrades have 30s for the first levels, then 60s for level 3+

User avatar
BlueTemplar
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 987
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 0.17.5

Post by BlueTemplar » Tue Mar 05, 2019 11:04 am

Bilka wrote:
Tue Mar 05, 2019 8:53 am
shlelieveld wrote:
Tue Mar 05, 2019 8:49 am
I completely removed the whole game from my Linux System and after unpacking the new tar.xz file it seems to work just fine again.
Something with manual updating which is going bad when just overwriting all files...
So lesson learned. :) Sorry for the confusion, may this help others with similar issues as well...
We deleted 2 migration files, if you just overwrite it won't get rid of those. Once the automatic updater works again you should use that instead.
Deleting config-path.cfg, bin, data, and doc-html (all the files/folders present in new installation) before extracting seems to work for me... so far at least !

Post Reply

Return to “Releases”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Solinya