[0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Bugs that we were not able to reproduce, and/or are waiting for more detailed info.
Post Reply
Blacky007
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

[0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by Blacky007 » Sat Aug 18, 2018 9:46 am

I had the same bug some month ago but that one was fixed. viewtopic.php?f=11&t=60026
today I have similar bug again.
during construction work on a big junction one of the chainsignals get stuck on yellow.
you can find it very easy - from the spawnpoint its the first big railjunction in the east.
in the junction itself it is on north south direction on the first north-south line on the west side
and maybe the next to it in the south west - marked with arrow in the picture
here is the link to the savegame
https://www.dropbox.com/s/o2d5o2pe8qa8l ... 2.zip?dl=0

will do some reseach to reproduce the bug.
maybe it happend when I was driving with a train manually through the junction and placed a chainsignal somewhere in the junction. but I didn't really know how this could happen again.
Attachments
Bugreport2.PNG
Bugreport2.PNG (4.33 MiB) Viewed 1833 times

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1999
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by Jap2.0 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 2:03 am

The train can continue around the roundabout into the top right, which follows that chain signal.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

youdoomt
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 5:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by youdoomt » Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:43 pm

First of all all, your picture show a blue signal, a better picture or set of pictures would be nice.
Secondly Jap2.0's comment is therefore irrelevant, because he's referering to the blue signal.

I did some looking, and the save is quite "perfect".
20180910165923_1.jpg
20180910165923_1.jpg (932.42 KiB) Viewed 1683 times
20180910165538_1.jpg
20180910165538_1.jpg (921 KiB) Viewed 1683 times
20180910165540_1.jpg
20180910165540_1.jpg (923.91 KiB) Viewed 1683 times
We have the usual before seen problem with the trains that won't go through the block.
Trains will redirect using the other track, then suddenly:
20180910170302_1.jpg
20180910170302_1.jpg (932.49 KiB) Viewed 1683 times
20180910170021_1.jpg
20180910170021_1.jpg (947.04 KiB) Viewed 1683 times
We see train 6838 on its way trough the block, and then undoing the stuck signal!
And this happens consistently a couple of minutes after the save!
So I did some testing:
  • setting 6838 to manual = nothing
    setting 6838 back to auto = nothing
    removing tracks infront of 6838 = nothing
    destroying 6838 = bingo, a change happened:
20180910172216_1.jpg
20180910172216_1.jpg (881.48 KiB) Viewed 1683 times
The Trains no longer had the red arrows, but the problem still persist.

BUT!
We can conclude that there is a definite relation between the bugged block and train 6838.



Btw 6838 will be here 15 seconds(at 30~ ups) at this spot:
20180910172648_1.jpg
20180910172648_1.jpg (463.45 KiB) Viewed 1683 times

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1999
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by Jap2.0 » Mon Sep 10, 2018 7:16 pm

youdoomt wrote:First of all all, your picture show a blue signal, a better picture or set of pictures would be nice.
Secondly Jap2.0's comment is therefore irrelevant, because he's referering to the blue signal.

You may be right, I kind of assumed they meant blue (it's somewhere in between red and green), but I easily could have been mistaken - and probably was, looking at it.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

Zaflis
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 12:51 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by Zaflis » Mon Oct 01, 2018 5:29 pm

Hold some signal in hand so the segment colors show on tracks and screenshot? Maybe they're not divided like you thought they are.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 9471
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by Rseding91 » Tue Oct 02, 2018 8:35 pm

Do you have any way to reproduce the signal getting into the broken state?

I noticed your save was created at or before 0.16.7 and migrated through 0.16.41 which had the train signal issues so it may have been broken then and the underlying issue was since fixed but that one signal was stuck broken.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Blacky007
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by Blacky007 » Thu Oct 04, 2018 7:55 am

I have no clue.

but I have a question regarding the yellow signal state.

If a train is reserving a path - are that signals connected to that train?
and if a path is removed short infront of the train - when will that reserved Signals set back?
thats the way I think this broken Signal happend.

as @youdoomt found out that the signal goes back to normal if the train 6838 is destroyed.

Blacky007
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by Blacky007 » Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:21 am

this is the same Map befor 0.16.41 I don't know if that helps
https://www.dropbox.com/s/r26701868n0sw ... 4.zip?dl=0

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 9471
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by Rseding91 » Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:11 am

I'd need some way to reproduce a good train getting into the broken state to be able to fix it.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Blacky007
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by Blacky007 » Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:35 am

what I can remember is that I was working on the junction to get better access to the roketcontrolunit factory to the right.
and I maybe was manually driving into the junction after a train was starting to speed up from 0 km/h and that train hit my train got damaged and I maybe set this back to manually. take my train out the juntion to the north and then put that train back to autoroute.
thats all I can remember
Last edited by Blacky007 on Fri Oct 05, 2018 11:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Blacky007
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by Blacky007 » Fri Oct 05, 2018 8:38 am

I can't believe it - I made another broken train signal right now
I think it has to do somthing with deconstructing rail connections while signal is yellow.
I had 2 parallel rail with a space of 2 rails - connected with left right curve without a signal - while the signal was yellow i removed the 2 curves to get two seperate rails.
maybe it is the same bug as if you place new signal between two connected tracks if the signal is yellow.

I will do some testing
can I remove the files with name bugreport3? I need to upload another files and I have no more space left

EDIT: it is on cursor 1085 / -983

I think that playing with a very low UPS of 13-15 is helping to create this bug

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 9471
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by Rseding91 » Fri Oct 05, 2018 9:28 pm

Can you please try to reproduce it on a smaller save file? Debugging a save file that runs at 15 UPS at best is impossible to do in the debug build which runs 20-40x slower.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Blacky007
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by Blacky007 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 3:10 pm



this is the blueprint of the area - I removed useless stuff and added two simple train stations to make it faster for testing
5-6 Trains [1-6-1] running from "DUMMY1" to "-Zutaten Rakete"
I removed the rail connection as seen in the pictures and the marked signal got stuck yellow.
Bugreport4-B1.PNG
Bugreport4-B1.PNG (2.17 MiB) Viewed 1435 times
Bugreport4-B2.PNG
Bugreport4-B2.PNG (2.8 MiB) Viewed 1435 times

youdoomt
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 5:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by youdoomt » Sat Oct 06, 2018 3:45 pm

Could you give a better description to reproduce(like when you did it), and maybe the save?

Blacky007
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by Blacky007 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 3:50 pm

youdoomt wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 3:45 pm
Could you give a better description to reproduce(like when you did it), and maybe the save?
the save is 140MB!

I was deconstructing the the two curve elements - and then after a little bit i saw that the signal got stuck.
I think the deconstruction happend at a point of the subroutine in programm to mark all signals yellow / red to prepare the path for the train that it doesn't change back to green.
or it was when everthing was going back to green and in that moment I removed the curve - I don't really have the clue who it could happen.

youdoomt
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 5:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by youdoomt » Sat Oct 06, 2018 6:13 pm

where was the trains and what color did the signals have when you removed the tracks and signal?

Blacky007
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by Blacky007 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 7:54 pm

youdoomt wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 6:13 pm
where was the trains and what color did the signals have when you removed the tracks and signal?
that is the question and i have now answer

I think that the first reported broken signal is the same bug - I removed a rail connection or placed a new signal while that train was planing its way through the junction

Blacky007
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by Blacky007 » Sat Oct 20, 2018 7:58 pm

another update
in this case the signal is stuck yellow and if the trains 2691 runs that way everything is going back to normal...

Blacky007
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by Blacky007 » Tue Nov 06, 2018 3:02 pm

I think the reason for this stuck signal is that the train was creating a yellow way through the junction
then the player is creating oder removing a new way in the junction that has a lower or higher penalty score
and the train keeps that single signal yellow but was using another path to his destination.

btw. is this a bug that chainsignals a blue in front of a station when a staion is between some chainsignals?
Blue_infront_of_station.PNG
Blue_infront_of_station.PNG (1.8 MiB) Viewed 1209 times

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1999
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Chainsignal stuck yellow

Post by Jap2.0 » Tue Nov 06, 2018 4:49 pm

Blacky007 wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 3:02 pm
btw. is this a bug that chainsignals a blue in front of a station when a staion is between some chainsignals?
Blue_infront_of_station.PNG
I believe that's intentional, because the train could be pathing to the station.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

Post Reply

Return to “Pending”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users