/c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Bugs that we were not able to reproduce, and/or are waiting for more detailed info.
User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

/c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by binbinhfr »

Hi,

it seems that the command

Code: Select all

/c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} 
does not capture any GUI.

I tried also the SSU mod that gave the same result.
(viewtopic.php?f=92&t=17297)

Could it be a problem with my graphic settings, or is it a general problem ?
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5153
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by Klonan »

Thanks for the report

The 'show_gui' shows the alt mode gui, not the user gui

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by binbinhfr »

ah ok, because in the doc:
http://lua-api.factorio.com/0.12.34/Lua ... screenshot

it seems that there is also a
show_entity_info :: boolean (optional): Include entity info (alt-mode)

which is different than
show_gui :: boolean (optional): Include game GUI in the screenshot

"game GUI" sounded like the whole GUI (quick bar, top bar, minimap, etc...)

Could you show me a screencopy with these kind of infos, because I do not really understand what it refers to.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by binbinhfr »

Is there a way to make a screencopy with the current user GUI (current windows, bars, etc...) ?
I mean, from factorio, because I can still press "printscreen" on my keyboard. ;)
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5153
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by Klonan »

How would the game know which players gui to screenshot?

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by binbinhfr »

Klonan wrote:How would the game know which players gui to screenshot?
take_screenshot{player=…, position=…, resolution=…, zoom=…, path=…, show_gui=…, show_entity_info=…}

I saw a "player" field, and as there is also a "position" field, I was supposing that the "player" field was not used to get the player position, but to identify the player's gui, and that the "show_gui" would do what it sounds like ...
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5153
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by Klonan »

binbinhfr wrote:
Klonan wrote:How would the game know which players gui to screenshot?
take_screenshot{player=…, position=…, resolution=…, zoom=…, path=…, show_gui=…, show_entity_info=…}

I saw a "player" field, and as there is also a "position" field, I was supposing that the "player" field was not used to get the player position, but to identify the player's gui, and that the "show_gui" would do what it sounds like ...
well maybe, i will check it out tomorrow

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by binbinhfr »

Klonan wrote:well maybe, i will check it out tomorrow
Hi Klonan, any news ?
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5153
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by Klonan »

binbinhfr wrote:
Klonan wrote:well maybe, i will check it out tomorrow
Hi Klonan, any news ?
The only thing i have found which the 'Show_Gui" shows is the entity gui, such as the out of fuel icon
Image

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3700
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by DaveMcW »

Steps to reproduce:

1. Install Factorio 0.11.22.
2. In console type: /c game.takescreenshot{showgui=true}
3. Look at the screenshot, it includes the entire user interface

4. Install Factorio 0.12.34.
5. In console type: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true}
6. Look at the screenshot, it has no user interface.

I don't have access to any earlier 0.12 versions, so I can't pinpoint where it broke.

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by binbinhfr »

Ok, I do not have access to these old versions, but what you say is making sense.
So I hope this will be recorded as something to correct.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13270
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by Rseding91 »

Why do you want the take_screenshot to include the player's GUI?

At best it could be made to include the local player's GUI that is calling the function. Other player's GUIs aren't available.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by binbinhfr »

Rseding91 wrote:At best it could be made to include the local player's GUI that is calling the function. Other player's GUIs aren't available.
Yes that's exactly what I need. The local GUI of the player who is calling the function.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3700
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by DaveMcW »

If show_gui is no longer supported, it should be removed from the documentation.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13270
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by Rseding91 »

binbinhfr wrote:
Rseding91 wrote:At best it could be made to include the local player's GUI that is calling the function. Other player's GUIs aren't available.
Yes that's exactly what I need. The local GUI of the player who is calling the function.
BAH! you dodged the important part - why do you want it?
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by binbinhfr »

Sssssecret... answer by PM. :o
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

sparr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1334
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:52 pm
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by sparr »

Rseding91 wrote:
binbinhfr wrote:
Rseding91 wrote:At best it could be made to include the local player's GUI that is calling the function. Other player's GUIs aren't available.
Yes that's exactly what I need. The local GUI of the player who is calling the function.
BAH! you dodged the important part - why do you want it?
Because the contents of my hotbar or the minimap or some text previously printed to the console by a mod could be relevant to what I'm trying to illustrate with the screenshot.

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by binbinhfr »

the author of SSU (screenshot utility) confirms that something was changed...
viewtopic.php?f=92&t=17297&p=164529#p164529

it could be really nice to revert to previous behaviour.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

matjojo
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 337
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by matjojo »

binbinhfr wrote:the author of SSU (screenshot utility) confirms that something was changed...
viewtopic.php?f=92&t=17297&p=164529#p164529

it could be really nice to revert to previous behaviour.

To fix this problem I searched through all the changelogs and found no documentation on a change in this department, really weird. I have a feeling I already filed a bug report on this once, and that I did get a fix, but I can't find it.

Zeblote
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 973
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: /c game.take_screenshot{show_gui=true} problem

Post by Zeblote »

Rseding91 wrote:Other player's GUIs aren't available.
What? They why is the modding api so limited?

Post Reply

Return to “Pending”