Linked chest wire interface

Place to ask discuss and request the modding support of Factorio. Don't request mods here.
Post Reply
everything-narrative
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2019 5:31 pm
Contact:

Linked chest wire interface

Post by everything-narrative »

TL;DR
The linked chest cheat item does not support wire connections — it should work the same
as other chests.
What ?
Linked chests are a cheat item that allows separate chests to have the same inventory, using a 32 bit ID. It can be created in Editor mode.

Currently, wires cannot connect to linked chests, and so the content of the chest(s) cannot be read.

This is NOT a proposal that it should be possible to set the ID of a linked chest using wire. Just that it work the same as all (well, most) other
chests.
Why ?
Unless there exists a specific engine limitation, this should be a very minor change, and it would allow modders and scenario
creators to exploit this new interesting entity prototype to its fullest..

PFQNiet
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 236
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2020 7:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Linked chest wire interface

Post by PFQNiet »

Although, setting linked chest ID by circuit signal would be interesting...

everything-narrative
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2019 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Linked chest wire interface

Post by everything-narrative »

PFQNiet wrote:
Wed Jul 28, 2021 8:44 pm
Although, setting linked chest ID by circuit signal would be interesting...
But not the point of this suggestion.

User avatar
Impatient
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 2:51 am
Contact:

Re: Linked chest wire interface

Post by Impatient »

+10

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 11928
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: Linked chest wire interface

Post by Rseding91 »

What's the use-case for reading what's in the chest? Since the contents are shared globally across all chests with that ID I don't see much point in reading the contents with wires.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
Impatient
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 2:51 am
Contact:

Re: Linked chest wire interface

Post by Impatient »

This is one usecase:
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/SchallAut ... b762e32ad7

The creation of nonsquare shaped "chests" which can be connected to the circuit network.

curiosity
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Linked chest wire interface

Post by curiosity »

Rseding91 wrote:
Fri Sep 24, 2021 3:05 pm
Since the contents are shared globally across all chests with that ID I don't see much point in reading the contents with wires.
This doesn't follow. It doesn't matter if contents are shared or not and between how many chests when you can't get them into a circuit network.

edit: And the point is automation. You can sort of hack it with other entities by logging inserter actions to a memory cell, but other entities can only be in one place at a time, unlike linked chests. So you can't know the contents to act on them automatically.

Post Reply

Return to “Modding interface requests”