Multiple requests

Place to ask discuss and request the modding support of Factorio. Don't request mods here.
ShadowTheAge
Inserter
Inserter

Multiple requests

Post by ShadowTheAge »

Hello everyone!
I am a new factorio player, got in on a steam release.
I am a programmer (as my job) and I have made two WOW addons (one popular one), so i am familiar with LUA, so I have decided to write a mod. I have got two ideas that sounds at least interesting (it may be or may be not, it is hard to say because both are major gameplay changes) and I have started implementing one of these.
I know the game is in an early access, so modding api is in alpha stage, that's why I am making this post as a feedback. That's some problems and annoyances I have encountered.

ItemStacks and SimpleItemStacks.
They are, well, simple, but it is a little bit of nightmare when you try to do some generic stuff that works with items. There are 6 methods in ItemStack to read/write blueprint contents (thats almost half!) and also few values for ammo/damage/durability, and also item grids and whatever comes in the future. And all these parameters are irretrievable when you use SimpleItemStacks
My suggestion is to make SimpleItemStack format like {name="", count=0, data={...}} where data can be something (type-related).

examples:
blueprints data = {icons={"item_1","item_2"},entities={...}}
ammo data = {ammo=0}
Of course, you cannott set_stack() with invalid data, but you can store and copy it without any knowledge what is inside

ItemStack methods like copy_to(target_item_stack), stack_to(target_inventory / entity), swap(with_item_stack), merge(target_item_stack) are all doable in lua but it would be convinient if you could do it easily without thinking about possible side effects (like stacking damaged items etc)

transport lines: get item count, get item position (by index), get ItemStack(by index). Item stack is valid this frame only.

Inventory features:
- shared inventories