Youtubin' & Streamin'

Things that are not directly connected with Factorio.
-root
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter

Youtubin' & Streamin'

Post by -root »

Seems there are a few people that would like to know how to do the whole youtube/streaming thing.

Its really very easy. But to do it well it does take both time and money.

I'm not an expert so I can only cover the very basics.

Here are the steps:
  • 1. Recording
    2.Post Processing
    3. Rendering
    4. Uploading
    5. Publishing
Recording

First things first, you need to record the stock footage. To do this you can do it many different ways. For most people FRAPS or OBS will do the trick. Record the raw footage.

Something really nice about OBS is it will stream direct to twitch. Obviously streaming its only the one step because everything is done live.

A note on settings, youtube can only handle 1080p@30fps.

Post Processing

Some people post process their videos. A higher quality can be achieved with editing. However many bigger youtubers (Arumba is probably the most famous) don't as it does take time to post process.

In a post processing setup most people record their sound through Audacity. Its very good open source software that improves sound quality dramatically.

Rendering

After you have finished post processing or if you have recorded phat from FRAPS, you'll need to encode the footage into a manageable file that you can upload in a resonable time period. The encoding should match up with your targetted end settings and should be as good as you can make it. youtube will encode again when it hits their servers and it chops up the footage pretty good. The better your encoding the better it will look.

Uploading

Once the encoding has finished, upload the video to youtube or your platform of choice.

Publishing