Change Z index for entities?

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
Post Reply
Linnun
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:51 am
Contact:

Change Z index for entities?

Post by Linnun »

Is there any way to change the z index (as in drawing order) of entities to decide which ones are drawn on top?

That way for example you could make concrete draw on top of ore fields instead of having the ore drawn on top of the concrete paths.

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3461
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: Change Z index for entities?

Post by DaveMcW »

A few entities support render_layer, which has a limited set of z-index values.

Ore is not supported, but if you try really hard you can make it invisible and add a SimpleEntity for the render_layer.

Linnun
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:51 am
Contact:

Re: Change Z index for entities?

Post by Linnun »

Thank you for those hints, I will look into it :)

Illiander42
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Change Z index for entities?

Post by Illiander42 »

You could also look at how the Coverup mod does that for ore.

Assuming that's specifically what you're after.

Post Reply

Return to “Modding help”