What is the best way to copy and paste a surface?

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
AlienX
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter

What is the best way to copy and paste a surface?

Post by AlienX »

Hi all,
I am a bit new with the Factorio API, but not new to programming/scripting.

I wish to create a base surface for a scenario, that when the win condition or lose condition is met, the "base" surface is copied to a new "playing" surface (aka, restart the game again without the need to restart the server and change the save file)

As I understand it, the only way I currently see to be able to do this is to generate a new surface using the same map settings as the base, and use baseSurface.find_entities(), loop through these and re-place them onto the newly created surface.

Is this the best way of doing this or does Factorio already have some built in functionality to copy and paste a whole surface to another?

SyncViews
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter

Re: What is the best way to copy and paste a surface?

Post by SyncViews »

Would also need to consider any trees, biters, etc. that need to be removed from the freshly generated surface.

I don't think there is any way to straight copy, you either have find_entity + create_entity, or you can make a blueprint (either manually in advance, or create_blueprint) and place it (build_blueprint), but then you need to "revive" all the placed ghosts (on_entity_built or find_entity would work)

Daid
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter

Post by Daid »

Create a new surface on start, with specific MapGenSettings, especially the "seed" is important here. Move all the players to this surface on connect.

Then when you are done, create a new surface with these same settings, move all the players to it, and delete the original surface? Same MapGenSettings will provide the same map every time.

(You simply don't use the 'nauvis' surface, as you cannot delete that one)

AlienX
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter

Post by AlienX »