What Lua Version does the game use?

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
Post Reply
User avatar
RalleYTN
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:14 am
Contact:

What Lua Version does the game use?

Post by RalleYTN »

I'm currently working on a GUI program that should make it easy to create mods with a few clicks.
I also want to provide a simple Lua Editor. But For the auto completetion I have to know what version of Lua the game is using so that no functions are shown that are deprecated or not even implemented.

Also a short sneak peek on the software as attachment.
Attachments
bmfm.jpg
bmfm.jpg (72.9 KiB) Viewed 3881 times
I'm currently working on a tool that will allow everyone to create mods for Factorio without having to learn any of the complicated stuff.
Follow the development here: viewtopic.php?f=137&t=40830.

User avatar
prg
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 947
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 12:39 am
Contact:

Re: What Lua Version does the game use?

Post by prg »

Code: Select all

/c game.player.print(_VERSION)

Code: Select all

Lua 5.2
Automatic Belt (and pipe) Planner—Automate yet another aspect of constructing your factory!

daniel34
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2761
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:30 am
Contact:

Re: What Lua Version does the game use?

Post by daniel34 »

Lua 5.2.1.
quick links: log file | graphical issues | wiki

User avatar
RalleYTN
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:14 am
Contact:

Re: What Lua Version does the game use?

Post by RalleYTN »

prg wrote:

Code: Select all

/c game.player.print(_VERSION)

Code: Select all

Lua 5.2
daniel34 wrote:Lua 5.2.1.
Thank you very much. :)
I'm currently working on a tool that will allow everyone to create mods for Factorio without having to learn any of the complicated stuff.
Follow the development here: viewtopic.php?f=137&t=40830.

User avatar
aubergine18
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1264
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2016 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: What Lua Version does the game use?

Post by aubergine18 »

If possible, please make it so your editor sets up the common directory structure (based on what's in mod) as that will make it much easier should community need to offer support or provide long-term maintenance of mod at later date.
Better forum search for modders: Enclose your search term in quotes, eg. "font_color" or "custom-input" - it prevents the forum search from splitting on hypens and underscores, resulting in much more accurate results.

User avatar
Adil
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 945
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:36 pm
Contact:

Re: What Lua Version does the game use?

Post by Adil »

There exists `_VERSION` global variable, which reports current version. (5.2 indeed)
I do mods. Modding wiki is friend, it teaches how to mod. Api docs is friend too...
I also update mods, some of them even work.
Recently I did a mod tutorial.

Post Reply

Return to “Modding help”