Question about lua control flow

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
Simn
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Question about lua control flow

Post by Simn »

Hi,

I'm new to lua and got confused by the behavior of this small piece of code while toying with surfaces:

Code: Select all

_G.script.on_event(defines.events.on_chunk_generated,function(e)
    game.print(e.surface.name);
    if (e.surface == surface) then
      for _,entity in pairs(surface.find_entities()) do
        game.print("Destroying " .. entity.name);
        entity.destroy();
      end
      game.print("Destruction done");
      for _,player1 in pairs(force.players) do
        game.print("Teleporting " .. player1.name);
        player1.teleport({x=0,y=0},surface);
      end
    end;
  end);
What I'm seeing ingame is this:

nauvis
nauvis
my_test
Destroying tree-05
Destroying green-hairy-grass
Destruction done
Teleporting simn
Destroying player
my_test is the name of my custom surface, simn is my player name. What I don't understand is how control flow can go from "Teleporting simn" to "Destroying player" without crossing "my_test" again. Any hints as to what's going on there?

MrDoomah
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter

Re: Question about lua control flow

Post by MrDoomah »

Instead of game.print, try log and see what is printed in the log file.

Factorio automatically skips printing stuff if it has been printed in the last x (1?) seconds. For example if you do

/c for i = 1,100 do game.print("text") end 
you won't print 100x text, but only 1 time text.

Simn
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Post by Simn »

MrDoomah wrote:Instead of game.print, try log and see what is printed in the log file.

Factorio automatically skips printing stuff if it has been printed in the last x (1?) seconds. For example if you do