[HELP] Edit the data of only one entity

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
Chanz
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

[HELP] Edit the data of only one entity

Post by Chanz »

Hi,

I'm new to modding Factorio and I've got a question about data (data.json) and control (control.lua).

As far I understand how it works its like this:
The data.json defines the class of an entity or changes (extends) an existing entity class.
The control.lua is the script that works on runtime.

Now my question:
Is it possible to change values like "max_speed" (defined in prototypes/entity/entities.lua) after an entity has been created?
As example I want to change only the max_speed of the locomotive the player is in.

Thanks for your help.

cya,
Chanz

ShinyAfro
Inserter
Inserter

Re: [HELP] Edit the data of only one entity

Post by ShinyAfro »

Its data.lua, probably a typo but i'd rather you getting called out then scratching your head for 30 minutes :P
atleast to my knowledge anyhow. The info.json and migration files should pretty much be the only jsons.
Control.lua are basically scripts, like if you place down a entity on a sand tile it turns it into something else, i used such a technique to turn sand and dirt into resources, i am yet to utilize them
anyhow, back to data.lua, yes, it is possible. Theres 3 ways of doing it, two of which are better for small changes and the last is good for total overhauls (like when you change everything including the wall of text that is the sprites)

First, for some context ill grab a random entity from the game and remove like 90% of its code to use as an example

Code: Select all

{
    type = "assembling-machine",
    name = "assembling-machine-2",
    blah,blah,blah,
    max_health = 250,
    blah,blah,
    resistances =
    {
      {
        type = "fire",
        percent = 70
      }
    },
   blah,blah,blah
  },
First way, changing a value. data.raw["Type"]["Name"]["Property"] = new_value