Hello,
Having an issue here with descriptions for technology.
I am trying to create an addition tier of solar power/
Here is the small issue I'm having;
The technology description here is being pulled form the solar_energy technology description
I have it set up in my locale file here as solar_energy_2 as the tech name and solar_energy_2 tech description as Allows access to a more efficent and smaller version of the larger solar panel as you can see here
How do it get it to pull the solar_energy_2 tech description instead of the solar_energy one?
[Unsolved]Technology Descriptions
-
- Burner Inserter
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 7:15 pm
- Contact:
[Unsolved]Technology Descriptions
Last edited by Hellaciouss on Wed Mar 23, 2016 8:17 pm, edited 3 times in total.
-
- Burner Inserter
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 7:15 pm
- Contact:
Re: Technology Descriptions
I've solved my problem and I feel a bit silly.
In my technology.lua file I had
And it needed to be:
In my technology.lua file I had
Code: Select all
type = "technology",
name = "solar-energy-2"
Code: Select all
type = "technology",
name = "solar_energy_2",
Re: [Solved]Technology Descriptions
I would advise you to use dashes (-) instead of underscores (_) as word-separator because all entities/items/recipes in Factorio and most other mods are already written that way and it is easier to understand your code if someone else reads it (in code, the _ is already used for function names).
-
- Burner Inserter
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 7:15 pm
- Contact:
Re: [Solved]Technology Descriptions
I've been unable to add custom technology descriptions to tier'd technology unless I use _'s. When I use -'s it just defaults to the tier 1 description. Is there another way around this? I do notice I get the little nifty 2 or 3 on the technology icon when I use the -'s though, which is neat, but again, I am unable to have a custom description to the "-2" addition.daniel34 wrote:I would advise you to use dashes (-) instead of underscores (_) as word-separator because all entities/items/recipes in Factorio and most other mods are already written that way and it is easier to understand your code if someone else reads it (in code, the _ is already used for function names).
It seems like it's something that would need to be changed by devs as none of the tier'd tech have additional descriptions. They either have none or default to the tier 1 description.
-
- Burner Inserter
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 7:15 pm
- Contact:
Re: [Unsolved]Technology Descriptions
Anyone able to shed some light onto how this could be done? Still unable to find a way to add a different description to the technology while keeping the -2 (the number 2 on the bottom right hand of the tech icon)
Re: [Unsolved]Technology Descriptions
I don't think you can. If the description is that important to you, rename the tech solar-energy-two.