Overriding base ore generation

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
Post Reply
xiphias
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:55 pm
Contact:

Overriding base ore generation

Post by xiphias »

I have recently made a mod which adds a new ore and it works fine, but in my next step I want to change the base ore generation.

I want copper, iron and coal to generate more like stone, i.e fewer ore "patches" and smaller in size, but I have no idea how to change the base once.

I have played around with the influence, noise_layer, etc. of my own ore generation, I just don't know which lua-code to override the base generation :P

All help is welcome!

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5150
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Overriding base ore generation

Post by Klonan »

in your data.lua you can do something like this

Code: Select all


data.raw["resource"]["copper-ore"].autoplace = { new autoplace stuff here },
data.raw["resource"]["iron-ore"].autoplace = { new autoplace stuff },

xiphias
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Overriding base ore generation

Post by xiphias »

Klonan wrote:in your data.lua you can do something like this

Code: Select all


data.raw["resource"]["copper-ore"].autoplace = { new autoplace stuff here },
data.raw["resource"]["iron-ore"].autoplace = { new autoplace stuff },

I tried it out and it worked like a charm, thank you Klonan! Not the first time you helped me :D

Solved!

Post Reply

Return to “Modding help”