Lack of control: Inaccessible methods

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
ninjadindon
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Lack of control: Inaccessible methods

Post by ninjadindon »

Hi guys!
I'm a semi experienced lua programmer (mostly thanks to garrysmod) but I have some trouble with finding/understanding and adding already existing methods to another type,

For example, i wanted to code a Locomotive/wagon with the tank turret on it (and play it mad max style), unfotunately the easy "data["car"]["tank"].guns = {stuff}" obviously doesn't apply for trains and i can't figure out how to port it

I also expect to make RTS units and factories as lot of people suggest around here, defenders "time living" cannot be set to infinite and no selection/placement orders can be issued, so we'll have to do it ourselves
(modifying follow.player= true is going to be a mess in multiplayer)
At last "autoplace" and "result units" are a pain to make proper enemies

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff

Re: Lack of control: Inaccessible methods

Post by Rseding91 »

Factorio is primarally written and run in C++. Entities have prototypes defining pre-existing C++ properties for the given entity/class in the C++ backend.

When you're referring to "data["car"]["tank"].guns = {stuff}" all that's doing is setting the tank instance of the car prototype guns properties to "{stuff}" - which already exists in the C++ backend. That means you can't take one entities (classes) properties and port them to a different entity - if the C++ class does not support them it will simply ignore them.

A good example of this is storage chests:

Basic storage chests have inventory sizes and health. You can't add rotation to the entity because it was not coded on the C++ side to support rotation or drawing the chest in any rotated way.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

ninjadindon
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Post by ninjadindon »