Softmod — Detecting if a player is on Unix or Windows, for custom sprite path?

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
thesixthroc
Inserter
Inserter

Softmod — Detecting if a player is on Unix or Windows, for custom sprite path?

Post by thesixthroc »

I recently released a softmod (a multiplayer scenario with no mods) that uses custom sprites. I call rendering.draw_sprite, with

Code: Select all

sprite = "file/maps/pirates/images/comfy2.png"
This works for me, but I now realise this uses Unix directory notation, not Windows. How do I detect if a player is on Unix or Windows?

Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff

Re: Softmod — Detecting if a player is on Unix or Windows, for custom sprite path?

Post by Bilka »

You can use "/" as the directory separator on all operating systems, when loading the sprite the game will covert it to the appropriate separator if needed.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

thesixthroc
Inserter
Inserter

Re: Softmod — Detecting if a player is on Unix or Windows, for custom sprite path?

Post by thesixthroc »

Hmm. Windows players crashed — only sometimes — when joining the scenario, with crash logs:
00007FFCA5D62651 (ntdll): (filename not available): RtlUserThreadStart
Stack trace logging done
32.504 Error SpriteDrawOrder.cpp:72: Invalid sprite reference. Sprite: C:\Users\Big_pc\AppData\Roaming\Factorio\temp\currently-playing\maps/pirates/images/tooltip-category-electricity2.png {x = 0, y = 0, w = 31, h = 38}, 0x00000163f3de8710
Tentatively, it looks as though putting the custom sprites in the root scenario directory, hence avoiding the '/' appearing above, solves the issue.