- CombatRobotPrototype.light is optional but not marked as such
- MiningDrillGraphicsSet.shift_animation_waypoint_stop_duration should be a float/double (might also apply to CraftingMachinePrototype.shift_animation_waypoint_stop_duration?)
- Sprite4Way.sheets & Sprite8Way.sheets is actually an array
- the 2 loader prototypes mention belt_distance in their description but actually refer to belt_length
collection of some prototype docs issues
- BrainGamer_
- Long Handed Inserter
- Posts: 93
- Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2021 9:52 pm
- Contact:
collection of some prototype docs issues
This is a short list of additional issues I noticed in the prototype docs while implementing my parser.
Re: collection of some prototype docs issues
Fixed point 1 and 3 for the next version, thank you.
They are uint16, the floating point value that the base game is setting is getting truncated during loading. Unclear what is the intended behaviour here, but the docs are correct for the current loading code.BrainGamer_ wrote: ↑Mon Oct 09, 2023 7:42 am MiningDrillGraphicsSet.shift_animation_waypoint_stop_duration should be a float/double (might also apply to CraftingMachinePrototype.shift_animation_waypoint_stop_duration?)
Those are in fact different properties with different effects, see the description on belt_length. belt_distance is hardcoded internally. I don't see a way to make this more clear, so I will move this thread to resolved anyway.BrainGamer_ wrote: ↑Mon Oct 09, 2023 7:42 am the 2 loader prototypes mention belt_distance in their description but actually refer to belt_length
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.
- BrainGamer_
- Long Handed Inserter
- Posts: 93
- Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2021 9:52 pm
- Contact:
Re: collection of some prototype docs issues
Then that appears to be wrongly documented in the abstract parent LoaderPrototype here?
edit: hmm no that also refers to the internal variable. I just don't see how that internal value is of interest if its neither exposed nor really explained what it does / why it is hardcoded this way.
- BrainGamer_
- Long Handed Inserter
- Posts: 93
- Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2021 9:52 pm
- Contact:
Re: collection of some prototype docs issues
That Lua floating point values get silently casted to integers if they are loaded as integers? Yes.
It's the only difference between the two loader prototypes and it's explained that "The belt_distance of the loader determines the distance between the position of this loader and the tile of the loader's belt target. This loader type always has a belt_distance of ..., meaning by default it is ... tiles long in total. " on the prototypes. I'll make the belt_length property description say that the explanation of belt_distance is on the linked prototypes, hopefully that helps.BrainGamer_ wrote: ↑Mon Oct 09, 2023 9:38 am Then that appears to be wrongly documented in the abstract parent LoaderPrototype here?
edit: hmm no that also refers to the internal variable. I just don't see how that internal value is of interest if its neither exposed nor really explained what it does / why it is hardcoded this way.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.