[1.1.32] Error: "Reached id limit for tile." after update

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
User avatar
AussieDevil_3142
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2021 2:17 pm
Contact:

[1.1.32] Error: "Reached id limit for tile." after update

Post by AussieDevil_3142 »

Game crashes when booting.
The conflicting mods only stopped working together after v1.1.30, previous versions had no errors.
Attachments
factorio-3.log
(42.24 KiB) Downloaded 80 times
factorio-2-b.log
(14.42 KiB) Downloaded 69 times
factorio-2-a.log
(43.73 KiB) Downloaded 74 times
factorio-1.log
(5.05 KiB) Downloaded 76 times

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5026
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.32] Error: "Reached id limit for tile." after update

Post by Klonan »

Thank you for the report,

This is some issue with your mod set, we cannot do anything here

User avatar
AussieDevil_3142
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2021 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.32] Error: "Reached id limit for tile." after update

Post by AussieDevil_3142 »

Do you know at all which mod specifically is responsible? So that maybe I can file a bug report with the mod itself?

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 7397
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.32] Error: "Reached id limit for tile." after update

Post by Loewchen »

No single mod is responsible, you combined mods that together contain too many tile types.

User avatar
AussieDevil_3142
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2021 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.32] Error: "Reached id limit for tile." after update

Post by AussieDevil_3142 »

Can't the tile types be increased at all? It seems to be a pretty low concrete ceiling for the modding capabilities of the game.

coderpatsy
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.32] Error: "Reached id limit for tile." after update

Post by coderpatsy »

AussieDevil_3142 wrote:
Thu Apr 15, 2021 12:15 am
Can't the tile types be increased at all? It seems to be a pretty low concrete ceiling for the modding capabilities of the game.
As Rseding has said...
Rseding91 wrote:
Fri May 01, 2020 5:15 pm
It's not going to happen. It would be a memory and performance hit for *every single base game player regardless of them using mods* - that's not going to happen.
Check the quoted thread for more info and links to previous discussions.

User avatar
AussieDevil_3142
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2021 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.32] Error: "Reached id limit for tile." after update

Post by AussieDevil_3142 »

Ohh, okay. But what about the DLC? Won't that take away for from the games finite mod capacity?

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5141
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.32] Error: "Reached id limit for tile." after update

Post by posila »

AussieDevil_3142 wrote:
Wed Apr 14, 2021 11:58 pm
Do you know at all which mod specifically is responsible? So that maybe I can file a bug report with the mod itself?

Code: Select all

   2.323 Info PrototypeList.cpp:79: tile counts:
   2.323 Info PrototypeList.cpp:81:  AsphaltPaving: 47
   2.323 Info PrototypeList.cpp:81:  HelicopterRevival: 1
   2.323 Info PrototypeList.cpp:81:  alien-biomes: 156
   2.323 Info PrototypeList.cpp:81:  base: 51
   2.323 Info PrototypeList.cpp:81:  core: 1
My bet is on HelicopterRevival adding a tile type in its "final fixes" stage, because alien-biomes tries to handle too many tiles situation by removing some of them.

twilightthepony
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 7:32 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.32] Error: "Reached id limit for tile." after update

Post by twilightthepony »

posila wrote:
Thu Apr 15, 2021 6:33 am

Code: Select all

   2.323 Info PrototypeList.cpp:79: tile counts:
   2.323 Info PrototypeList.cpp:81:  AsphaltPaving: 47
   2.323 Info PrototypeList.cpp:81:  HelicopterRevival: 1
   2.323 Info PrototypeList.cpp:81:  alien-biomes: 156
   2.323 Info PrototypeList.cpp:81:  base: 51
   2.323 Info PrototypeList.cpp:81:  core: 1
My bet is on HelicopterRevival adding a tile type in its "final fixes" stage, because alien-biomes tries to handle too many tiles situation by removing some of them.
That bet wouldn't be that far off.

Here's a thing: In the past I got a few complaints about this exact same thing that pertains to the combination of 2 mods: Alien Biomes and Asphalt Roads. Now, given that Factorio supports 255 tiles, the calculation of those above is super tight. Why is that so?

Well... If you ever used AR mod and looked at those tile numbers a little closer, you'd see that number isn't right either. The real number of those tiles should be way above 70. I forgot the exact number. HOWEVER, that is mitigated by AR itself. You see, within AR there's a little checker that just doesn't load tiles if the total count of tiles exceeds 255. And since:
156 (AB) + 51 (base) + 1 (core) + 70 (AR) is way more than 255 then there's no way AR + AB will work together properly. Let's not go trying to put anything else that has tiles to that.

Now; Helicopters (and HelicoptersRevival -- since they share the same codebase) only adds a single tile to the mix -- the landing pad that is used to land helicopters remotely. With that said, there's no plans to change the way it loads currently.

Here's why: If I don't force-load the tile, and people try to place it, the mod crashes and I get bug report (it happened). If I do, the mod works fine, but Factorio still crashes due to excess of tiles and I still get bug reports. So it's a fail-fail situation. HOWEVER, most people don't use AR + AB combination so I'm happy with the current setup.

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5026
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.32] Error: "Reached id limit for tile." after update

Post by Klonan »

twilightthepony wrote:
Thu Apr 15, 2021 9:27 am
Here's why: If I don't force-load the tile, and people try to place it, the mod crashes and I get bug report (it happened). If I do, the mod works fine, but Factorio still crashes due to excess of tiles and I still get bug reports. So it's a fail-fail situation. HOWEVER, most people don't use AR + AB combination so I'm happy with the current setup.
You can put a field in the data.lua, so that Alien biomes will try to keep them when it manages the tile limit:

Code: Select all

if alien_biomes_priority_tiles then
  table.insert(alien_biomes_priority_tiles, "my-tile-name")
  table.insert(alien_biomes_priority_tiles, "my-other-tile-name-etc")
end

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”