[0.17.4 vanilla] Copying empty "grass-1" tiles creates a "landfill"-BP

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
someone1337
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:29 pm
Contact:

[0.17.4 vanilla] Copying empty "grass-1" tiles creates a "landfill"-BP

Post by someone1337 »

I was following up on a bug report of one of my mods ...

It seems like it is possible to copy/paste "grass-1" to "landfill" in 0.17.4 vanilla (without any mods, except for base)

References:
+ viewtopic.php?f=23&t=66111&p=405679#p405679
+ https://mods.factorio.com/mod/Realistic ... 000b03b18b
Attachments
screen-2019-03-03--02-55-01.png
screen-2019-03-03--02-55-01.png (3.82 MiB) Viewed 1176 times
screen-2019-03-03--02-55-19.png
screen-2019-03-03--02-55-19.png (2.83 MiB) Viewed 1176 times
screen-2019-03-03--02-55-38.png
screen-2019-03-03--02-55-38.png (1.04 MiB) Viewed 1176 times

Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 2790
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.4 vanilla] Copying empty "grass-1" tiles creates a "landfill"-BP

Post by Bilka »

Congratulations, you found a feature :)
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

someone1337
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.4 vanilla] Copying empty "grass-1" tiles creates a "landfill"-BP

Post by someone1337 »

Obviously its one of those "unintended features" :)
some people call them "bugs", but its unsure, whether this term will catch on :)

Anyway
* Importing the bp-string in 16.latest gives you the error "tile grass-1 cannot be used in blueprints"
obviously there was logic to prevent the copy/pasting of "grass-1"

* it makes no sense that players have to look for grass-1 tiles to make a landfill-blueprint.
if this is an intended feature, make it work with ALL non-water-tiles, or at least with all grass tiles, as landfill creates grass(-1).

* it is unexpected that you can copy/paste grass-1 only.

* if this really is an intended feature, which I dont beleave, I have another bugreport: ctrl-z does not work

User avatar
BlueTemplar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2200
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.4 vanilla] Copying empty "grass-1" tiles creates a "landfill"-BP

Post by BlueTemplar »

In 0.16 already, landfill made grass-1.

I've specifically noticed it when playing Seablock with Dectorio, which resulted in curious bugs when using Bot Landfill :

Seablock changes default landfill to sand-something, Dectorio allows to place cheap terrain tiles, and allows them in blueprints and does some trickery with bots - I tried to fix these issues, but got lost between the various terrains/landfills and tricks, and ended up giving up and removing Dectorio. And now it's likely that this issue doesn't even exist in 0.17 !

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”