[0.17.4] Pollution spreading one chunk past world border on Ribbon map

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
XeonDead
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 6:04 pm
Contact:

[0.17.4] Pollution spreading one chunk past world border on Ribbon map

Post by XeonDead » Fri Mar 01, 2019 7:58 pm

Hello once again and thanks for fast updates!

We've recently started a Ribbon world type and it appears that the pollution is spreading past the world border, for some reason.

The screenshot is attached.

Please let me know if you need a world save. Thanks!
Attachments
pollution.png
Pollution spreads past world border on Ribbon world type
pollution.png (30.16 KiB) Viewed 293 times

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 9216
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.4] Pollution spreading one chunk past world border on Ribbon map

Post by Rseding91 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:18 pm

Thanks for the report however that's currently working as intended: map size is ignored when pollution spreads.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1995
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.4] Pollution spreading one chunk past world border on Ribbon map

Post by Ranakastrasz » Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:33 pm

Purpose is to avoid the square-cube Line-square Law? Pollution is area based, but with a line-world or similar, it would spread a lot further and have weird effects on difficulty?

That's my guess anyway.
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

User avatar
BlueTemplar
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 987
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.4] Pollution spreading one chunk past world border on Ribbon map

Post by BlueTemplar » Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:51 pm

But from this screenshot it looks like the pollution doesn't spread farther than the first black chunk ?

User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1995
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.4] Pollution spreading one chunk past world border on Ribbon map

Post by Ranakastrasz » Wed Mar 06, 2019 2:28 pm

BlueTemplar wrote:
Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:51 pm
But from this screenshot it looks like the pollution doesn't spread farther than the first black chunk ?
Alright, nevermind. I have no idea what is going on.

Several guesses.

Empty chunks are not simulated, so those chunks will build up forever.
The border chunk is active, but the next chunks are inactive, so pollution treats them as not existing.
A wizard did it.
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 9216
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.4] Pollution spreading one chunk past world border on Ribbon map

Post by Rseding91 » Thu Mar 07, 2019 12:38 pm

Out-of-map chunks aren't charted but the pollution is still in them.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: phi Seeker