[Rseding91] game.difficulty_settings.recipe_difficulty always returns 1

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mylon
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 513
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 11:42 pm
Contact:

[Rseding91] game.difficulty_settings.recipe_difficulty always returns 1

Post by Mylon »

game.difficulty_settings.recipe_difficulty is always "1".
game.difficulty_settings.technology_difficulty is always "1".

Expected: Sometimes returns 2.

To recreate, start a new game under normal settings and do

/c game.print(serpent.line(game.difficulty_settings.recipe_difficulty))
console prints "1" (expected)
/c game.print(serpent.line(game.difficulty_settings.technology_difficulty ))
console prints "1" (expected)

Now quite game to menu and restart a new game under marathon and repeat this command:

/c game.print(serpent.line(game.difficulty_settings.recipe_difficulty))
console prints "1" (expected "2")
/c game.print(serpent.line(game.difficulty_settings.technology_difficulty ))
console prints "1" (expected "2")

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13220
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [Rseding91] game.difficulty_settings.recipe_difficulty always returns 1

Post by Rseding91 »

The two values are 0 and 1. Which I get as expected.

0 being "normal" and 1 being "expensive".

http://i.imgur.com/KJWptpW.jpg
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
Mylon
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 513
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: [Rseding91] game.difficulty_settings.recipe_difficulty always returns 1

Post by Mylon »

I thought that might be the case, but I never got it to return 0.

Edit:

So I started a normal game and ran the command:

/c game.print(serpent.line(game.difficulty_settings.technology_difficulty ))

Console prints: 0

I started a marathon game and ran the same command and got: 1

I exited out and started a normal game (again) and ran the command and got: 1

So I wasn't imagining things.

Edit: Seems the bug is in selection
Last edited by Mylon on Tue May 23, 2017 10:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13220
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [Rseding91] game.difficulty_settings.recipe_difficulty always returns 1

Post by Rseding91 »

Mylon wrote:... I exited out and started a normal game (again) and ran the command and got: 1

So I wasn't imagining things.
No you didn't, the map gen settings persist between new-games unless you explicitly change them or select another preset. So it was still on the last settings.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”