Bad rounding errors in every number ingame [Please fix!]
- Distelzombie
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 336
- Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 4:27 pm
- Contact:
Bad rounding errors in every number ingame [Please fix!]
Hi there,
because I am testing stuff from time to time I always hit a wall with the numbers ingame and have to find ways around it to still get accurate results.
If it is counting items with combinators, measuring energy consumption or anything else involving numbers when units or the decimal place change. Its really horrible.
To visualize this problem I build a setup that consists of two seperate power networks. They can be connected with a switch to make them one.
If I arrange the power consumption in the right side to a value-shift (999kW to 1MW or 9.9MW to 10MW) I can add a certain amount of buildings on the other side that are basically "invisible" in power statistics menu.
The left side is the one that's "invisible" if connected to the right and the right gives the base-consumption.
Left side = 99.9MW
Right side = 1.0GW
I tried to get the comsumption on the right side to almost a perfect 1.0GW and on the right side to 99.9MW. That's why there are several different buildings.
Again its just to easily spot the problem. This error is in all numbers when units or the decimal place change
because I am testing stuff from time to time I always hit a wall with the numbers ingame and have to find ways around it to still get accurate results.
If it is counting items with combinators, measuring energy consumption or anything else involving numbers when units or the decimal place change. Its really horrible.
To visualize this problem I build a setup that consists of two seperate power networks. They can be connected with a switch to make them one.
If I arrange the power consumption in the right side to a value-shift (999kW to 1MW or 9.9MW to 10MW) I can add a certain amount of buildings on the other side that are basically "invisible" in power statistics menu.
The left side is the one that's "invisible" if connected to the right and the right gives the base-consumption.
Left side = 99.9MW
Right side = 1.0GW
I tried to get the comsumption on the right side to almost a perfect 1.0GW and on the right side to 99.9MW. That's why there are several different buildings.
Again its just to easily spot the problem. This error is in all numbers when units or the decimal place change
- Attachments
-
- Rounding errors.png (1.54 MiB) Viewed 5397 times
Complete 2-Lane system as a Blueprint-Book!
The perfect OCD reactor?
Testing chained science lab efficiency
Please use real prefixes and proper rounding!
Re: Bad rounding errors in every number ingame [Please fix!]
moved to bug reports
Re: Bad rounding errors in every number ingame [Please fix!]
The electric usage statistics are averages. They're not exact numbers so the over-time values will not be exact.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.
- Distelzombie
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 336
- Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 4:27 pm
- Contact:
Re: Bad rounding errors in every number ingame [Please fix!]
I dont really understand your point here. As I said in every number when the unit or the decimal place change there will be a certain HUGE amount that is not shown. This does really interfere with testing or anything... I cant rely on anything the game tells me.Rseding91 wrote:The electric usage statistics are averages. They're not exact numbers so the over-time values will not be exact.
I would love to have at least 3 decimals and a correct rounding that works like you learned irl: 0.499 = 0 and 0.500 = 1 ... and not like it is rihgt now: 0.999 = 0 and 1.000 = 1
Complete 2-Lane system as a Blueprint-Book!
The perfect OCD reactor?
Testing chained science lab efficiency
Please use real prefixes and proper rounding!
Re: Bad rounding errors in every number ingame [Please fix!]
Uhm, 0.999 would equal 0.9, not 0.
But I agree, it would be nice to have a nicer way to count numbers of things. I was recently trying to build a huge solar array, and was dissapointed to see that my blueprint just counted to 1.0k solar panels after I hit that threshold. It'd be nice to be able to turn on an exact numbers mode, similar to how ALT shows more detail on directions are being faced.
(For those wondering, you can count specific items by deconstructing using bots and seeing how many they put away, was able to create a nice 5 roboport blueprint with only 2 extra solar panels above the 0.84 ratio)
But I agree, it would be nice to have a nicer way to count numbers of things. I was recently trying to build a huge solar array, and was dissapointed to see that my blueprint just counted to 1.0k solar panels after I hit that threshold. It'd be nice to be able to turn on an exact numbers mode, similar to how ALT shows more detail on directions are being faced.
(For those wondering, you can count specific items by deconstructing using bots and seeing how many they put away, was able to create a nice 5 roboport blueprint with only 2 extra solar panels above the 0.84 ratio)
Re: Bad rounding errors in every number ingame [Please fix!]
Measuring in GW his example is left = 0.0999 GW and the right = 0.999 GWJetroid wrote:Uhm, 0.999 would equal 0.9, not 0.
But I agree, it would be nice to have a nicer way to count numbers of things. I was recently trying to build a huge solar array, and was dissapointed to see that my blueprint just counted to 1.0k solar panels after I hit that threshold.
The left side shows production of 1.0GW when used alone (rounded up) and the left side shows 0.999GW. When they are added together the expected sum is 0.999 + 0.0999 = 1.0989 rounded up to 1.1 GW. But instead, as his final screenshot shows, the number is rounded down to 1.0 GW for production but oddly 1.1GW for satisfastion (see LHS of last screenshot). So the calculation is performed differently for different parts of the same screen!
- Distelzombie
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 336
- Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 4:27 pm
- Contact:
Re: Bad rounding errors in every number ingame [Please fix!]
Not in the framework i used there:Jetroid wrote:Uhm, 0.999 would equal 0.9, not 0.
If you would round up to full integers it would show 0. (Using the logic the game has right now)0.499 = 0 and 0.500 = 1 ... and not like it is right now: 0.999 = 0 and 1.000 = 1
Thats a good idea. But you could have always on anyway. Its not even an issue with space: Sometimes there are 3 numbers.It'd be nice to be able to turn on an exact numbers mode
------------------------------------
The smallest bit of accuracy should be three decimals. (I mean: 1.234) Because number get really big pretty fast.
Oh I didnt see that.1.0 GW for production but oddly 1.1GW for satisfastion
Anyway to proof its in every number:
This picture shows a chest with 1,099 copper wires. As you can see on the right when I hover over the chest it only shows 1.0k. This number would also show up if I read the contents using networks. Thats what makes tests that count items really inaccurate.
- Attachments
-
- 20170508191610_1.jpg (296.69 KiB) Viewed 5300 times
Complete 2-Lane system as a Blueprint-Book!
The perfect OCD reactor?
Testing chained science lab efficiency
Please use real prefixes and proper rounding!
- Distelzombie
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 336
- Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 4:27 pm
- Contact:
Re: Bad rounding errors in every number ingame [Please fix!]
And to prove it is happening with networks:
Requesterchests have exactly 10k copper wire in them. The other chest has exactly 999 copper wire. (As you can see on the powerpole.)
Combined is that still 10k. (As you can see on the combinator)
Requesterchests have exactly 10k copper wire in them. The other chest has exactly 999 copper wire. (As you can see on the powerpole.)
Combined is that still 10k. (As you can see on the combinator)
- Attachments
-
- 20170508193004_1.jpg (288.32 KiB) Viewed 5296 times
-
- 20170508193007_1.jpg (299.84 KiB) Viewed 5296 times
Complete 2-Lane system as a Blueprint-Book!
The perfect OCD reactor?
Testing chained science lab efficiency
Please use real prefixes and proper rounding!
Re: Bad rounding errors in every number ingame [Please fix!]
Yes, display values are rounded down - that's intended. The actual signal value is the exact amount - you can run a condition against it and see for yourself.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.
- Distelzombie
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 336
- Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 4:27 pm
- Contact:
Re: Bad rounding errors in every number ingame [Please fix!]
Yes I know that. But if you yourself want to see the numbers they're all wrong. Also you can't work with number in the power menu using combinators.Rseding91 wrote:Yes, display values are rounded down - that's intended. The actual signal value is the exact amount - you can run a condition against it and see for yourself.
Why do they round down when it is 0.99? This makes no sense. It should round down when it's 0.49 and round up when it's 0.50.
I can't even see if my factory uses 12.0 petawatt or 12.1! That's a difference of 100 terawatt! That's like a hundred factorys! The higher the number the worse it gets.
For a game that's essentially made for programmers, network guys or any other profession that needs logical thinking, this really is a no-go.
You could include a switch in options to change to scientific notation or simply add a bunch of decimals. At least do something to reduce the rounding errors, please.
You guys are doing a great job, nonetheless!
Complete 2-Lane system as a Blueprint-Book!
The perfect OCD reactor?
Testing chained science lab efficiency
Please use real prefixes and proper rounding!
Re: Bad rounding errors in every number ingame [Please fix!]
Related since 04/2016: viewtopic.php?f=11&t=24558
May i kindly ask, what this is:
Greetings, steinio.
May i kindly ask, what this is:
Still an amazing game.Klonan wrote:There is a solution in 0.15,
So you will have to trust us until then, that it is the right move
Greetings, steinio.
- Distelzombie
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 336
- Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 4:27 pm
- Contact:
Re: Bad rounding errors in every number ingame [Please fix!]
I dont see how this is related. Your problem has probably been fixed when they multiplied all fluids by ten, and my problem got worse.steinio wrote:Related since 04/2016: viewtopic.php?f=11&t=24558
May i kindly ask, what this is:Still an amazing game.Klonan wrote:There is a solution in 0.15,
So you will have to trust us until then, that it is the right move
Greetings, steinio.
Complete 2-Lane system as a Blueprint-Book!
The perfect OCD reactor?
Testing chained science lab efficiency
Please use real prefixes and proper rounding!
Re: Bad rounding errors in every number ingame [Please fix!]
The rounding error annoyed me for quite a while(years). You got my vote for the "Please Fix Campain".
-
- Long Handed Inserter
- Posts: 59
- Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 5:08 pm
- Contact:
Re: Bad rounding errors in every number ingame [Please fix!]
Any progress on this?
Re: Bad rounding errors in every number ingame [Please fix!]
No, because it's not a bug; and that's why this is in "Not a bug"; we aren't working on it because there's nothing to work on
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.