Can a script know the filename of its save?

Things that we aren't going to implement
adamius
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter

Can a script know the filename of its save?

Post by adamius »

Hi all,

I'd like a script to be able to know what save its world came from. I can't seem to find anything relevant.

Ideally I'd find it in game.savename or something similar.

Any ideas?

thanks

Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff

Re: Can a script know the filename of its save?

Post by Bilka »

This is not possible to access because it is not a deterministic value. Mods have to be deterministic, so they may not have access to non-deterministic values.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

adamius
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter

Post by adamius »

Bilka wrote:This is not possible to access because it is not a deterministic value. Mods have to be deterministic, so they may not have access to non-deterministic values.
Your reality apparently contains insufficient hamster actuator power. This function from LuaGameScript (game) also disagrees with your statement.

server_save(name)
Instruct the server to save the map.

Parameters
name :: string (optional): Save name. If not specified, writes into the currently-running save.

I'd actually like to know where this name comes from then... so I can give it to my lua script.

DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Post by DaveMcW »

adamius wrote:I'd actually like to know where this name comes from then... so I can give it to my lua script.
The name comes from you. You can rename a save, but you cannot determine its original name.

adamius
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter

Post by adamius »

DaveMcW wrote:
adamius wrote:I'd actually like to know where this name comes from then... so I can give it to my lua script.
The name comes from you. You can rename a save, but you cannot determine its original name.