More "flexible" entities API

Things that we aren't going to implement
Forien
Inserter
Inserter

More "flexible" entities API

Post by Forien »

I'm new to modding, and new to Factorio, but I've ran into many, many problems, issues and other stuff that are making some of my ideas completely impossible to do atm and other extremely hard to do. And I realised that I spent more time thinking of some "ways around" than modding itself. But I'm not here for complaining, so let's skip whining :)

I'm pretty positive it's been mentioned earlier by someone else, but I'm still feeling like "I should post it".

I don't know how entities works inside game code, but it is known to me that entity types are hard coded, and each entity type has hardcoded attributes (parameters), methods, events etc. And I know that making entity like "building-with-absolutely-anything-you-come-up-with" could be unstable if current core is not ready to take it. But hey! Something like that would be awesome. We would have a building entity, and we could make it anythink we want.
Produce energy? Done.
Use recipes? No problem.
Shooting? Bring it on.
Playing with items? Ok.
Have burner? Sure.
Rely on sun/darkness? One more line.
Rotable? Can mine? Placeable only on specific tiles? Water?
etc.

You get the point, right? It would be really, really awesome to have complete control about modded entities through API. I can't even imagine what people would come up with. But I can imagine how simplier modding would be.

I understand if it's too hard, or just too complicated to implement. So I make here another request, a lil' smaller:
Make some entity types more "general".