LTN Test Map

Adds new train stops forming a highly configurable logistic network.

Moderator: Optera

LTN Test Map

Postby Optera » Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:07 pm

For those of you curious, this is the map where I run the final tests for LTN and most of my other mods. The base is split into several modules (towns) connected only through LTN.
2017-08-06-12-28-09-9205095.jpg
Overview
2017-08-06-12-28-09-9205095.jpg (236.15 KiB) Viewed 238 times


It has 4 depots with a total of 55 automated trains.
2017-08-06-20-03-02-3995500.jpg
Supply Train Depot & southern part of the Main Depot
2017-08-06-20-03-02-3995500.jpg (760.78 KiB) Viewed 238 times
Logistic Train Network, adds new train stops forming a highly configurable logistic network.
Inventory Sensor, read inventory and status of trains, cars, assemblers, furnaces and more

All mods I created/maintain on the Mod Portal
User avatar
Optera
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1099
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 6:41 am
Location: Österreich

Re: LTN Test Map

Postby jodokus31 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:54 am

Very nice. :)

A question regarding fluids. Do you use fluid wagons or barrels?
I use barrels only in my LTN setup and it works pretty well. (aside from some normal schedule trains with fluid wagons from oil well to refinery)
jodokus31
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:13 pm

Re: LTN Test Map

Postby Optera » Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:06 am

It wouldn't be much of a test map if i didn't use fluid wagons would it? ;)

The Refinery requests crude oil and provides lubricant and sulfuric acid. Since v1.3.0 I have not had a single drop of fluid left in trains returning to the depot.
2017-08-12-11-03-01-1964344.jpg
2017-08-12-11-03-01-1964344.jpg (555.35 KiB) Viewed 155 times
Logistic Train Network, adds new train stops forming a highly configurable logistic network.
Inventory Sensor, read inventory and status of trains, cars, assemblers, furnaces and more

All mods I created/maintain on the Mod Portal
User avatar
Optera
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1099
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 6:41 am
Location: Österreich

Re: LTN Test Map

Postby jodokus31 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:05 pm

Optera wrote:It wouldn't be much of a test map if i didn't use fluid wagons would it? ;)

Thats true :)

Another thing, which makes me curious. Are you using global wires to control quantities and priorities in other outposts.
I try to use no connections between outposts to minimize dependencies and dont mess up things, if i accidently cut the wire.
but its sometimes not trivial esp. with bobs and angels complicated processes
jodokus31
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:13 pm

Re: LTN Test Map

Postby Optera » Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:30 pm

jodokus31 wrote:Another thing, which makes me curious. Are you using global wires to control quantities and priorities in other outposts.
I try to use no connections between outposts to minimize dependencies and dont mess up things, if i accidently cut the wire.
but its sometimes not trivial esp. with bobs and angels complicated processes

There's no need for wires. Stations are set to request a suitable buffer size and LTN handles everything behind the scenes.
I only use priorities at depot supply stations and used up mining stops to get items out of there first.
With bobs or angels some byproducts possible would require either a higher provider priority or simply more items in stock than the regular production of those.
Logistic Train Network, adds new train stops forming a highly configurable logistic network.
Inventory Sensor, read inventory and status of trains, cars, assemblers, furnaces and more

All mods I created/maintain on the Mod Portal
User avatar
Optera
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1099
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 6:41 am
Location: Österreich

Re: LTN Test Map

Postby jodokus31 » Sun Aug 13, 2017 9:20 am

Optera wrote:There's no need for wires. Stations are set to request a suitable buffer size and LTN handles everything behind the scenes.
I only use priorities at depot supply stations and used up mining stops to get items out of there first.
With bobs or angels some byproducts possible would require either a higher provider priority or simply more items in stock than the regular production of those.


Thats great to hear. By now, I do it more or less like you proposed. (I just wondered, if there could be situations in your big test map, where this might not be enough. But it is.)
jodokus31
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:13 pm


Return to Logistic Train Network

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest