Some things I tested for UPS

Clever and beautiful constructions, bigger than two chunks
- Defense: killing biters as an art
- Castles, Throne Rooms, Decorations (comfortable living in the Factorio World)
- Main Bus Concepts
- Modular Systems, Factory Streets, show how all works together
- Megabases
Please provide us with blueprints or saves, if that makes sense of course.
Forum rules
Clever and beautiful constructions, bigger than two chunks
subjectivelyimproved
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

Some things I tested for UPS

Post by subjectivelyimproved »

Hi guys, I tested some things and I’d like to share my findings with you.
Disclaimer: I’m not a pro megabase builder, I have no impressive megabase to my name and wouldn’t know how to get myself there. But I am interested in the technical details of Factorio, and so I’m interested in the UPS discussion. In short, I’m just a theory crafter testing things.

Goal/scope

The goal is to understand better what causes a design to be efficient or inefficient in terms of computations, based on what is in the design and how it’s operating.
Factorio has a huge number of ways that things can interact, not all of which are intuitive. So I certainly didn’t test everything. But I tried to cover the situations that are most relevant for me, should I finally decide to build large.

I didn’t look at belts or pipes, because they are complex and highly optimized. Moving items onto and from belts is usually the costly part, not the belt transport itself.

Some background