Base Project - 1030 long trains 5k spm (Streaming)

Smart setups of railway stations, intelligent routing, solutions to complex train-routing problems.
Please provide - only if it makes sense of course - a blueprint of your creation.
Post Reply
Tailolian
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2022 12:03 pm
Contact:

Base Project - 1030 long trains 5k spm (Streaming)

Post by Tailolian »

After watching this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zRYQcVb_5W0&t=11s I got inspired do something something crazy... After a quick google search to find what the worlds longest train is, at an amazing 8 Power units with 682 Cargo trucks I decided to start out on doing something nuts.



I first tried just directly replicating the longest train, which ran out of fuel before reaching any speed and was annoying to use due to the odd length of cars.



Thus the 1000 long cargo train was built. After a bit of work, I decided 30 train units created a satisfactory speed vs realism balance.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c8B4MMYQ8zQ

Image
Yes, does not even fit on my screen when coiled up

The train is split into a 5-200-5-200-5-200-5-200-5-200-5 configuration. And my plan is to effetely stop the train at multiple locations, where resources will be loaded / unloaded and certain process will occur until Science is produced. Science will then be loaded onto a separate train to bee taken off to labs.

This is to limit the number of trains on a map because after about 13k train units the game becomes very unhappy, I mean I can't imagine it was design for that. I will be using 8 trains, 4x science and 4x build trains.

Again to try and make this possible I am using Mods to improve QOL & reduce UPS (I hope) in this world, whistle-stop factories, Ultimate belts, belt loaders & Black Cargo / Fluid wagons being the most important used.



I am also trying the whole streaming thing for this base as I felt it was bonkers enough to justify it, streams can be found here->
https://www.twitch.tv/tailolian
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ki5DExH ... xZoHMPIUIy



So yer, what do you think?



p.s. I'm not sure how to post the blueprint string as its 45k characters long, any suggestions and I will.

p.s.s. Or the map as its 200mb

FuryoftheStars
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1514
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Base Project - 1030 long trains 5k spm (Streaming)

Post by FuryoftheStars »

For that long of a BP string, I say try using pastebin.com then link to it here.

ColonelSandersLite
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: Base Project - 1030 long trains 5k spm (Streaming)

Post by ColonelSandersLite »

Pretty cool but was sad you didn't fire that bad boy up.

Tailolian
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2022 12:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Base Project - 1030 long trains 5k spm (Streaming)

Post by Tailolian »

ColonelSandersLite wrote:
Sun Sep 18, 2022 7:45 pm
Pretty cool but was sad you didn't fire that bad boy up.
That can be done... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1d5aGtCS5ac

Then I 4 upped it and got 4000 trains moving :P https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkOun4trktk

azesmbog
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 12:05 pm
Contact:

Snowpiercer

Post by azesmbog »

I really like the series "Snowpiercer".
That's just the railway train they have a short :)
Topikstarter created a train with a length of 4000 wagons.
And as I understand it, with mods and endless resources.
I play more, uh, honestly, no mods, pure vanilla, Death World Marathon map, with infinite biters and respawn.
So, anyway, there was nothing to do, and I decided to repeat the feat of TS. but 4 thousand wagons is somehow not enough?
What happened to me in a couple of days.
8400 artillery wagons (empty of course :) + 180 traction locomotives.
My processor is rather weak, but on the original UPS maps it was within ~ 60 units, with such a train it fell by half, ~ 30 UPS
I'm talking about the dynamics of acceleration:
up to 100 km / h accelerates in 10 minutes with such a UPS
up to 200 km/h it takes another 10 minutes
well, up to 300 km / h accelerates + 10 minutes, a total of 30 minutes.
On a sufficiently powerful computer, it took half the time, but still 15 minutes
At a full speed of 300 km / h, it takes 40 minutes for the train to pass from start to finish past the lone Engineer :)
This base is quite small, there are only 60,000 cells along the outer perimeter (or 60 km?), The whole train is not included in the length, you need a little more (60200, or what?)
but I have a two-track railway, so the length of the train can be increased by 2-3 times so as not to run over your tail. There are several thousand more railcars in stock, but I don’t see the point, and so UPS is already quite small.
Who cares - I post a link to my map, you can just stand still and look at the train passing by :) and wave a colored handkerchief

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ax-Xqe ... share_link

Post Reply

Return to “Railway Setups”