Factorio Mainframe Project - Up to 60 IPS

This board is to show, discuss and archive useful combinator- and logic-creations.
Smart triggering, counters and sensors, useful circuitry, switching as an art :), computers.
Please provide if possible always a blueprint of your creation.
pruby
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

Factorio Mainframe Project - Up to 60 IPS

Post by pruby »

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to Factorio, but have designed CPUs for fun in a few other contexts, so decided to sling one together out of combinators. I know a bunch of people have done so already, but here's my take on it. This is still a development and concept project, not a final release for general use, and may contain bugs.

The whole spread out "development version" of the CPU looks like this:

My requirements for this to be effective are:
  • Cheap and easy to build from blueprints.
  • Fast enough to be useful.
  • Simple enough to be easily programmed by hand.
  • Vanilla functional components (I did use Foreman for Blueprint export and Color Coding to mark areas).
Basically, it has to pull its weight - not be something that's more complicated and expensive to create than it's worth.

After thinking through this a lot, and a few iterations, the processor now has these features:
  • Harvard architecture - executes a program out of a separate instruction ROM.
  • 10-way "Barrel" Multithreading (I'll explain why in a bit).
  • 60 instructions per second (1 instruction per tick) peak throughput when all threads are active.
  • RISC-like instruction set - each instruction reads up to 3 memory locations (two direct, one indirect) and writes one result.
  • Data may contain all signals except the black colour signal. Most operations (e.g. addition, subtration) act on all signals in parallel.
  • This is a relatively small build in number of combinators. Once compacted, the final useable CPU with 120 registers is likely to take 4 substations' area.