Tetris... in Factorio?

This board is to show, discuss and archive useful combinator- and logic-creations.
Smart triggering, counters and sensors, useful circuitry, switching as an art :), computers.
Please provide if possible always a blueprint of your creation.
piriform
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 10:02 pm

Re: Tetris... in Factorio?

Post by piriform » Tue Jul 19, 2016 6:42 pm

It's a fictional scenario where certain types of computation have an unfortunate tendency to break through the Other side. See Charles Stross.

User avatar
stellatedHex
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2016 1:39 am

Re: Tetris... in Factorio?

Post by stellatedHex » Wed Jul 20, 2016 3:09 am

Actually, I really wouldn't worry about it. It has been demonstrated that in specific contexts, including those in which robots sometimes fight giant malevolent bugs, computers can only breach extradimensional space if they are aesthetically sinister (Clevinger, 2009). Sinisterness is incredibly difficult to achieve with Factorio's industrial aesthetic, even using pipes.
Just, you know, make sure that you don't route any fluids near your complex combinatorics. Just to be on the safe side.
stellatedHexahedron wrote:I'm the kind of person who makes Conway's Game of Life in Factorio, but forgets what they are doing halfway through typing their username.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10393
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: Tetris... in Factorio?

Post by ssilk » Wed Jul 20, 2016 3:45 pm

Ok, now I think the whole article is art in it's best form. So I moved it to Fan Art, but left a link in Show my Creations. That removes also the Sticky, which is kind of OK, cause some people find, that there are already too much sticky in Show my Creations.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

DisK
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 12:15 am

User Interface, block Generation, and color

Post by DisK » Wed Oct 19, 2016 12:05 pm

XKnight wrote:
XKnight wrote:
DaveMcW wrote:I'm already working on this. ;)

The 7 colored lights in 0.13 will be perfect.

The main problem is getting player input, it is quite awkward without mods.
Challenge accepted.
Challenge partially completed:
1.png
animation.gif
Unfortunately rotation was not implemented, because I am tired and this challenge a little bit boring.
But maybe I will come back to this task tomorrow :)
in order to manipulate the blocks, one would place a material dependent on what action they wish the block to take, for instance
  • Left = Copper Plate
  • Right = Iron Plate
  • Drop = Steel
  • RotLeft = Copper Ore
  • RotRight = Iron Ore
the blocks can be randomly generated by a continuous loop of chests (one for each piece) and the first chest it the only one connected to the wiring. The connected chest will generate a block dependent on the item currently inside using decider combinators equal to the number of block configurations
additionally, the blocks could be generated with 2 arithmetic combinators and a decider combinator, the first combinator being a +1 combinator against itself, also connecting to the decider combinator, so that it can find the upper limit, then translate that to the 2nd arithmetic combinator which subtracts the generator number from itself

the color used would be dependent on the number or item in use to determine the block type

Incredible
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 10:07 am

Re: Tetris... in Factorio?

Post by Incredible » Wed Dec 14, 2016 2:12 pm

That would be wonderful! Already can feel excitement and see a lot of fun!

User avatar
Ragnaman
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 10:06 pm

Re: Tetris... in Factorio?

Post by Ragnaman » Wed Dec 28, 2016 1:35 am

could you use such contraption for input ?
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/f ... =826088745
|
| Mods: Greenhouse with modules
| Hobby artist (CAD) | Hobby coder | Sr. Software Engineer | Unemployed
|

User avatar
DRY411S
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 9:48 am

Re: Tetris... in Factorio?

Post by DRY411S » Mon Jan 30, 2017 10:19 am

kovarex wrote: Cool, that is the reason there are 30 rows I guess :) (2^31 is the limit of the cominator numbers).
That's (2^31) -1, right? Bit 31 is the sign bit isn't it?

Post Reply

Return to “Combinator Creations”