Industrial Revolution 2 discussion

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Stimpatch
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:23 am
Contact:

Re: Industrial Revolution 2 discussion

Post by Stimpatch »

Deadlock989 wrote:
Tue Sep 13, 2022 11:26 am
The situation never arose in my own playthroughs because I don't recall ever having a train route last longer than a single stack of charged batteries, but I can see how it would be possible to do.
To clarify and add here, i use the mod Train Control Signals (by Klonan, https://mods.factorio.com/mod/Train_Control_Signals) to make my trains only visit the refuel station when the stored fuel is low, i dont have super long railways.

And ofc there is always the option to disable this mod and fall back to vanilla system, refuel the train every loop or just not to upgrade to batteries for trains. I was just curious if there was an good way around it / it was working as intended.

User avatar
Deadlock989
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2434
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:41 pm

Re: Industrial Revolution 2 discussion

Post by Deadlock989 »

Stimpatch wrote:
Tue Sep 13, 2022 2:34 pm
And ofc there is always the option to disable this mod and fall back to vanilla system, refuel the train every loop or just not to upgrade to batteries for trains. I was just curious if there was an good way around it / it was working as intended.
Definitely not intended. Even without a refuelling stop mod it's possible that a heavy/slow train might expend a stack of copper batteries on a very long journey.

It turns out that it is the "Fuel pollution: X%" text below the fuel bar that is distorting the loco's GUI when there are 3 fuel and 3 spent fuel slots. For fuel without a pollution modifier, no text appears below the bar and the GUI stays intact (although the bar is comically tiny). But since there are other fuels with a pollution modifier, like charcoal, taking the modifier off batteries wouldn't help.

If you can live with the ever-so-slightly borked GUI and you're playing single player, you can edit your own local copy of the mod to equalise all the fuel slots like this:

Change line 61 of code/entities/entities-vehicles.lua from this:

Code: Select all

		prototype.burner.burnt_inventory_size = 1
to this:

Code: Select all

		prototype.burner.burnt_inventory_size = prototype.burner.fuel_inventory_size
I will likely do something about it at some point but still not sure what.
"If Stalin had a good writeup on programming, would linking that be dangerous?"

Stimpatch
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:23 am
Contact:

Re: Industrial Revolution 2 discussion

Post by Stimpatch »

Deadlock989 wrote:
Tue Sep 13, 2022 10:03 pm
Change line 61 of code/entities/entities-vehicles.lua from this:

Code: Select all

		prototype.burner.burnt_inventory_size = 1
to this:

Code: Select all

		prototype.burner.burnt_inventory_size = prototype.burner.fuel_inventory_size
Oh, thx so much for this suggestion. I will do that to my single player game.

Stimpatch
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:23 am
Contact:

Re: Industrial Revolution 2 discussion

Post by Stimpatch »

May i post another small issue i found these days:
In my inventory crafting tab, modules are sorted like this:
Inventory-crafting.png
Inventory-crafting.png (432.99 KiB) Viewed 501 times
This in sync with selecting a crafting recipe in a assembler.

But if i choose the module from a signallist (like, selecting it as signal for a condition), the sorting is different.
Signal.png
Signal.png (570.04 KiB) Viewed 501 times
Not important ofc. Just to let you know. Thx again for a great time.

banawr
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2022 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Industrial Revolution 2 discussion

Post by banawr »

It took me 110 hours to launch the rocket in pretty much plain IR2... no cheating - on top of my ~700 hours with factorio vanilla
Finding first rubies has been a pain. I Love everything in the mod, but it was really challenging. Had to literally go down to zero pollution via forestry, since biters were very aggressive - probably I shouldn't have started in the desert.
This was an excellent entertainment. Chapeau bas!

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”