[MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Nuclear Extension

Topics and discussion about specific mods
User avatar
MadClown01
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:38 am
Contact:

[MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Nuclear Extension

Post by MadClown01 »

Description:

Brings advanced nuclear options for end-game domination and mid-game efficiency :D

Details:
  • Name: Clowns-Nuclear
  • Latest Release: v1.0.6, February 18th 2018
  • Factorio Version: 0.16
  • Download: Here
Long description
Recipes
Change Log
NOTE: AS OF 1.2.0, THE ANGELBOB FEATURES OF THIS MOD HAVE BEEN MOVED TO A NEW MOD, https://mods.factorio.com/mod/Clowns-AngelBob-Nuclear
Last edited by MadClown01 on Mon May 14, 2018 9:59 am, edited 17 times in total.

User avatar
Kabaril
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 10:24 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by Kabaril »

There is a error, when loading this mod without angelsrefining: data-final-fixes.lua (line:2)

Code: Select all

if angelsmods.refining then
require("prototypes.recipes.angels-thorium")
table.insert(data.raw["technology"]["advanced-ore-refining-4"].effects, {type = "unlock-recipe", recipe = "thorium-pure-processing"})
end
It should work with:

Code: Select all

if mods["angelsrefining"] then
require("prototypes.recipes.angels-thorium")
table.insert(data.raw["technology"]["advanced-ore-refining-4"].effects, {type = "unlock-recipe", recipe = "thorium-pure-processing"})
end
The same in line 18:

Code: Select all

if bobmods.modules then
...
end
Should be:

Code: Select all

if mods["bobmodules"] then
...
end

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3853
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by orzelek »

On an unrelated note:
Conditional require's were breaking mods in multiplayer. I'm not sure if thats still the case but it's safer not to use them.

User avatar
MadClown01
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:38 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by MadClown01 »

Kabaril wrote:There be problems
Thanks heaps dude. When I tested this myself my mod folder still had angelsrefining sitting there inactivated. Maybe that's why I didn't spot this bug. I will update asap (in a few hours)

User avatar
MadClown01
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:38 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by MadClown01 »

orzelek wrote:On an unrelated note:
Conditional require's were breaking mods in multiplayer. I'm not sure if thats still the case but it's safer not to use them.
Cheers, I'll look into it :)

User avatar
ZombieMooose
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by ZombieMooose »

I'm going to check for myself, but how complex would you say the production chains are? A potential flowchart for the different chains?

I'm also going to test the compatibility with PyFusion tomorrow and get back to you on that.

I'm hoping this fills the void left by Uranium Power dying.

Cheers.
"men will literally learn everything about ancient Rome instead of going to therapy"

User avatar
MadClown01
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:38 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by MadClown01 »

ZombieMooose wrote:I'm going to check for myself, but how complex would you say the production chains are? A potential flowchart for the different chains?

I'm also going to test the compatibility with PyFusion tomorrow and get back to you on that.

I'm hoping this fills the void left by Uranium Power dying.

Cheers.
Heya, good thinking - I'll publish a flowchart asap.
In general, I believe the chains are quite simple, but there is still much room for economic options.

Doggydog
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 12:58 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by Doggydog »

Is there anyway you can make it Compatible with Gotlags Nuclear Fuel?

User avatar
ZombieMooose
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by ZombieMooose »

Hey I thought of a suggestion. Add an artillery version of the thermonuclear bomb, similar to atomic artillery.

Also possibly a mox fuel chain.
"men will literally learn everything about ancient Rome instead of going to therapy"

User avatar
MadClown01
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:38 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by MadClown01 »

Doggydog wrote:Is there anyway you can make it Compatible with Gotlags Nuclear Fuel?
Sure thing, I'll look into it :)

User avatar
MadClown01
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:38 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by MadClown01 »

ZombieMooose wrote:Hey I thought of a suggestion. Add an artillery version of the thermonuclear bomb, similar to atomic artillery.

Also possibly a mox fuel chain.
Thanks for the suggestion. I'm working on an artillery overhaul mod (mortars, light artillery, phosphorus & napalm & tactical nuclear rounds) so I'll certainly explore adding it there.

Mox is in the mod already, you'll notice that you can use Plutonium-239 to create new fuel cells instead of using it to create bombs.

Another thing I've got commented out in the code is the concept of using "critical mass" items as an ingredient in nuclear weapons, with multiple recipes to create. Probably not necessary, but could make some interesting recipes. The icon is in the mod's icon folder. Any ideas for its use would be handy :P

jmattspartacus
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 2:59 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by jmattspartacus »

Any chance you could incorporate compatibility for RSO in a quick patch? I'm okay configuring it for myself, but others might not feel so inclined, love the mod though! Cheers!!

User avatar
MadClown01
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:38 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by MadClown01 »

jmattspartacus wrote:Any chance you could incorporate compatibility for RSO in a quick patch? I'm okay configuring it for myself, but others might not feel so inclined, love the mod though! Cheers!!
Hi, it's already perfectly RSO compatible :P this mod doesn't change anything about map generation

Jilocasin
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 3:57 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by Jilocasin »

Hey there, unfortunately I can't get both mixed oxide recipes to work at the moment. I'm playing with the most recent angel and bobs mods in 0.16, including Thermonuclear.

In-game the recipe for both mixed oxide recipes say "Made in", but the list is empty. I haven't finished researching everything, so I might be missing a factory.
  • In the mods lua file, it is listed under the category "centrifuging", so I guess it should be made in the centrifuge?
  • In the description (first post here) though it says:
(Assembler) 2x Plutonium-239, 2x Uranium-238, 2x Iron Plate -> 2x Uranium Fuel Cell
This leaves me confused where and how these recipes can be produced. Could anyone give me a clue? Thanks!

User avatar
MadClown01
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:38 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by MadClown01 »

Jilocasin wrote:Bug
Bug fixed :D

Jilocasin
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 3:57 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by Jilocasin »

Bug fixed :D
Muchas gracias! :D

User avatar
Kabaril
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 10:24 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by Kabaril »

There is a bug when you play with angelsrefining, but without thorium ore enabled.

To fix this you could change this (in data-final-fixes):

Code: Select all

--Temporary:
if mods["angelsrefining"] then
	require("prototypes.recipes.angels-thorium")
	table.insert(data.raw["technology"]["advanced-ore-refining-4"].effects, {type = "unlock-recipe", recipe = "thorium-pure-processing"})
end
To this:

Code: Select all

--Temporary:
if mods["angelsrefining"] then
if data.raw.item["thorium-ore"] then
	require("prototypes.recipes.angels-thorium")
	table.insert(data.raw["technology"]["advanced-ore-refining-4"].effects, {type = "unlock-recipe", recipe = "thorium-pure-processing"})
end
end
:)

Also I never had multiplayer issues when using mods["somemod"] to check.
I could be wrong, but using it to just register items,recipes etc. shouldn´t cause problems. :|

User avatar
MadClown01
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:38 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by MadClown01 »

Kabaril wrote:...
Thanks for letting me know, fixed for next release :D

Lezreth
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 12:57 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by Lezreth »

I received an error on game startup:
Path Clowns-Nuclear/graphics/icons/ore-5.png not matching the resource path pattern: __source__/path
The error shows up in a windows dialog, after which clicking on OK shuts down the game.
Because this was not caught by Factorio's usual "mod-error-handler-on-bootup", I had to hunt for the mod in mod-list.json and disable it manually.

User avatar
Kabaril
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 10:24 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] MadClown01's Thermonuclear Bombs & Thorium

Post by Kabaril »

Yes I get the same Error.

Easy fix change this:

Code: Select all

	icon = "Clowns-Nuclear/graphics/icons/ore-5.png",
to this:

Code: Select all

	icon = "__Clowns-Nuclear__/graphics/icons/ore-5.png",
Just a small mistake its already like this everywhere else. :)

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”