[MOD 0.15|0.14] Foreman - Blueprint Manager 2.0.1

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Post Reply
Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

[MOD 0.15|0.14] Foreman - Blueprint Manager 2.0.1

Post by Choumiko » Wed Jul 29, 2015 10:11 am

Original thread, instructions

Foreman 2.0.1 and Factorio 0.15:

This is one of the last updates where Foreman will be able to import blueprintstrings. Use the new vanilla blueprint Library (press B by default) to store your blueprints and create strings.
You can no longer export blueprints, only import them from the old BlueprintString/Foreman format. The new vanilla format will not be supported.
Foreman will (given time) turn into a blueprint manipulation tool.

Download for 0.15|14: Foreman 2.0.1|1.1.2

License: MIT
Version history
Last edited by Choumiko on Mon May 01, 2017 11:09 am, edited 28 times in total.

waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] Foreman - Blueprint Manager

Post by waduk » Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:08 pm

Sorry, how do i use mass load on new game ?
I already do mass export, and like you said, it was exported in defaultBook.lua.
But copy paste defaultBook.lua content into import text field giving me error.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10608
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] Foreman - Blueprint Manager

Post by ssilk » Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:58 pm

As I saw, that James gave up this mod ( https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... 510#p96510 ) I moved it to helper mods. ;)

I recommend to rename the mod (I suggest just Blueprint Manager), cause there is a tool with the same name. ( https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... 134&t=5576 ).
I also recommend to move all that stuff into a subboard. If wanted/needed just PM me. :)
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Talguy
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:54 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] Foreman - Blueprint Manager

Post by Talguy » Tue Aug 04, 2015 11:03 am

New Name: Blueprint Manager? Foreman is also an external tool. Or maybe Factocad (autocad for factorio)

I wish the devs would make it so that blueprints could have a name property(for exporting to filename purposes). Maybe it's possible to add it via this mod? Do the blueprints even have something like a primary key(other than serializing the entities)? Maybe discuss that with DaveMcW :)

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] Foreman - Blueprint Manager

Post by Choumiko » Tue Aug 04, 2015 12:03 pm

ssilk wrote:As I saw, that James gave up this mod ( https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... 510#p96510 ) I moved it to helper mods. ;)
Not sure i'm happy about that, puts pressure on me to keep developing :D
Talguy wrote:I wish the devs would make it so that blueprints could have a name property(for exporting to filename purposes). Maybe it's possible to add it via this mod? Do the blueprints even have something like a primary key(other than serializing the entities)? Maybe discuss that with DaveMcW :)
Foreman/BlueprintManager allows naming of blueprints and exports to Playername__Name.blueprint files. Primary key like something easy to tell whether 2 blueprints are identical? Nothing i know of.

JamesOFarrell
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] Foreman - Blueprint Manager

Post by JamesOFarrell » Tue Aug 04, 2015 12:37 pm

Choumiko wrote:
ssilk wrote:As I saw, that James gave up this mod ( https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... 510#p96510 ) I moved it to helper mods. ;)
Not sure i'm happy about that, puts pressure on me to keep developing :D
It could be worse. the code could be one big ugly uncommented lua file. :D

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10608
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] Foreman - Blueprint Manager

Post by ssilk » Tue Aug 04, 2015 1:09 pm

Choumiko wrote:
ssilk wrote:As I saw, that James gave up this mod ( https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... 510#p96510 ) I moved it to helper mods. ;)
Not sure i'm happy about that, puts pressure on me to keep developing :D
Sorry about that, was not intended, and is also not needed.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2994
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] Foreman - Blueprint Manager

Post by DaveMcW » Tue Aug 04, 2015 10:31 pm

Talguy wrote:Do the blueprints even have something like a primary key(other than serializing the entities)? Maybe discuss that with DaveMcW :)
You could hash the serialized entities. There's even a library for it! https://github.com/kikito/sha1.lua

Talguy
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:54 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] Foreman - Blueprint Manager

Post by Talguy » Wed Aug 05, 2015 8:32 am

Choumiko wrote:[...]Foreman/BlueprintManager allows naming of blueprints and exports to Playername__Name.blueprint files. Primary key like something easy to tell whether 2 blueprints are identical? Nothing i know of.
So it already supports it :) Awesome!

Urbs
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 1:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] Foreman - Blueprint Manager

Post by Urbs » Fri Aug 14, 2015 11:51 pm

I need some help.

I do a mass export from a .12 save.

I started a new map and when i go to hit mass import, it grabs nothing.

Am i supposed to do something else?

Boogieman14
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 769
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 12:59 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] Foreman - Blueprint Manager

Post by Boogieman14 » Sat Aug 15, 2015 12:02 am

Choumiko wrote:It will export all the blueprints into a single file (defaultBook.lua in script-output/blueprints). If you want to import them into another save copy the file into the Foreman folder and overwrote the existing one. Load the save and click "l".
So you'll need to extract the mod (or update the zipfile, at least)
I don't have OCD, I have CDO. It's the same, but with the letters in the correct order.

waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] Foreman - Blueprint Manager

Post by waduk » Sat Aug 15, 2015 3:02 am

Urbs wrote:I need some help.

I do a mass export from a .12 save.

I started a new map and when i go to hit mass import, it grabs nothing.

Am i supposed to do something else?
You need to update/replace the file "defaultBook.lua"inside mod zip from the one you exported in script output directory.

HellEye
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] Foreman - Blueprint Manager

Post by HellEye » Sat Aug 15, 2015 10:55 am

Hey! Just upodated to 12.4 and it seems to not work, was fine in 12.3. When i try to load or save a blueprint it says "No blueprint found in toolbar".

EDIT: Thank you for the fast update :) I downloaded 0.6 before but didn't install it for some reason...
Last edited by HellEye on Sat Aug 15, 2015 11:51 am, edited 2 times in total.

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] Foreman - Blueprint Manager

Post by Choumiko » Sat Aug 15, 2015 11:32 am

HellEye wrote:Hey! Just upodated to 12.4 and it seems to not work, was fine in 12.3. When i try to load or save a blueprint it says "No blueprint found in toolbar".
Thanks for the report, fixed in the latest version:

version 0.0.6
  • fixed looking in main inventory instead of hotbar
  • only loads a blueprint into an empty one in the hotbar

waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1+] Foreman - Blueprint Manager 0.0.6

Post by waduk » Sat Aug 15, 2015 12:23 pm

Thanks for the update. Kinda worry you didn't continue support this mod :(
Edit :
Also, a bug report.
The blueprint never remember the smart inserter logistic network setting. Also happen in previous Foreman version.
Last edited by waduk on Sat Aug 15, 2015 12:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Urbs
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 1:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] Foreman - Blueprint Manager

Post by Urbs » Sat Aug 15, 2015 12:35 pm

waduk wrote:
Urbs wrote:I need some help.

I do a mass export from a .12 save.

I started a new map and when i go to hit mass import, it grabs nothing.

Am i supposed to do something else?
You need to update/replace the file "defaultBook.lua"inside mod zip from the one you exported in script output directory.
Thank you! I did not realize the file was created inside the script output directory.

waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1+] Foreman - Blueprint Manager 0.0.6

Post by waduk » Sat Aug 15, 2015 5:15 pm

Btw, why it changes "only load from blank one". Not as convenient as previous version :)

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1+] Foreman - Blueprint Manager 0.0.6

Post by Choumiko » Sat Aug 15, 2015 5:48 pm

Urbs wrote:Thank you! I did not realize the file was created inside the script output directory.
Yeah, a mod can only write in that directory. There are ways around having to copy the file each time you save it but right now i'm not recommending it. Also probably won't work in MP
waduk wrote:Btw, why it changes "only load from blank one". Not as convenient as previous version :)
I found it more annoying than convenient ;)
Could change it to: load into empty blueprint or into first one in hotbar if no empty one is found? I guess if you have all your blueprints in Foreman it doesn't matter.
Oh and overwriting blueprints saves you 1 electronic circuit to erase it.

waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1+] Foreman - Blueprint Manager 0.0.6

Post by waduk » Sun Aug 16, 2015 8:42 am

Really ? Haha, we have different very play style then.
With the new load from blank , i end up having too many blueprint in my inventory.
Oh yes, that would be lovely, prioritize load from blank, then if none were found, it changes the first one in hotbar.

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1+] Foreman - Blueprint Manager 0.0.6

Post by Choumiko » Sun Aug 16, 2015 9:19 am

waduk wrote:Really ? Haha, we have different very play style then.
With the new load from blank , i end up having too many blueprint in my inventory.
Oh yes, that would be lovely, prioritize load from blank, then if none were found, it changes the first one in hotbar.
How would you feel if it would require to have an electronic circuit (and use one) in your inventory to overwrite an existing blueprint? Would be more in line with vanilla. Still saves you having to go somewhere in your factory where you have the blueprint already built to create it.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users