[MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.16

Topics and discussion about specific mods
User avatar
Narc
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.15

Post by Narc »

steinio wrote:I have some weird battle statistics.
Oh, weird. That's all in the same game? All I'm doing is querying your force's kill counts so if you're getting numbers like that, something's weird.

JDCollie
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.15

Post by JDCollie »

I'm getting an error about referencing "game" being null. :(

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2633
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.15

Post by steinio »

Narc wrote:
steinio wrote:I have some weird battle statistics.
Oh, weird. That's all in the same game? All I'm doing is querying your force's kill counts so if you're getting numbers like that, something's weird.
Yes i also don't know whats happened.
Could be a game engine bug and nobody noticed it because nobody played so long with visible stats?

But who cares :)
Image

Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

Peppe
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 6:48 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.15

Post by Peppe »

What do you think about adding another timer for session time?

Then maybe have an optional/customization setting to popup how long you have been going? Like every hour popup and let me know the sun might be coming up soon.

Or if there is no way to detect a new session just an option to have the popup every X game minutes based on the play time timer.

Or a mix where the player can basically manually activate that this is a new session and remind in one hour increments starting now.

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2633
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.15

Post by steinio »

Peppe wrote:What do you think about adding another timer for session time?

Then maybe have an optional/customization setting to popup how long you have been going? Like every hour popup and let me know the sun might be coming up soon.

Or if there is no way to detect a new session just an option to have the popup every X game minutes based on the play time timer.

Or a mix where the player can basically manually activate that this is a new session and remind in one hour increments starting now.
Haha i would support this because this game is highly addictive.
Image

Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

User avatar
Narc
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.15

Post by Narc »

Peppe wrote:What do you think about adding another timer for session time?
Sounds complicated. I'll gladly review (and most likely accept) that pull request.

401
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 10:31 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.15

Post by 401 »

Request:

Convert and Add the "Rocket Score" from freeplay scenario into EvoGui. Honestly I really hate seeing the Rockets Launched gui on my screen, would look much more better if it was included within your mod.

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2633
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.15

Post by steinio »

Hello Narc,

i'm, playing a bit with your remote sensor interface.

With it, i only have the possibility to send a specific text to the sensor interface, but can't send a player.
You do it by code in your mod, where i don't have access to.

How can i send player specific information to the interface?
Currently i only use game.forces.player to show my research in percent.

In the settings gui, the mod name is added with brackets [] and then the discription but it takes to mich space and looks ugly.
Could you please remove the mod name before the description?

Greetings steinio
Attachments
steinios_research_sensor_0.0.1.zip
(2.12 KiB) Downloaded 112 times
EvoGUI remote.PNG
EvoGUI remote.PNG (40.01 KiB) Viewed 6903 times
Image

Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

User avatar
Narc
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.15

Post by Narc »

steinio wrote:With it, i only have the possibility to send a specific text to the sensor interface, but can't send a player.
Yep, that would be a nice enhancement. I don't think it'd be super-hard to do, either, because sensor:get_line does receive a player argument.
steinio wrote:You do it by code in your mod, where i don't have access to.
I do take pull requests, but if you're willing to wait until I (or someone else) gets around to it (it might not be very long), I've created #58 to track it.
steinio wrote:In the settings gui, the mod name is added with brackets [] and then the discription but it takes to mich space and looks ugly.
Could you please remove the mod name before the description?
Yup, I can do that. It seemed like a reasonable default at the time, but not if it gets in the way.

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2633
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.15

Post by steinio »

Great,

i guess you just wrote the remote api, but never dreamed about that anyone use it :)

But i say you put so much good work in your mod, why should i reinvent the wheel.
So i would wait forever if neccessary.

I could imagine something like
for index, player in ipairs(game.players) do
remote.call("update_remote_sensor", "...", playerindex = index, text ="hello world")
end

The create_remote_sensor could be the same?

Just for your interest:
In remote.lua you wrote:
-- example: remote.call("EvoGUI", "create_remote_sensor", { "mod_name" = "my_mod",
-- "name" = "my_mod_my_sensor_name",
-- "text" = "Text: Lorem Ipsum",
-- "caption" = "Lorem Ipsum Text" })

this is probably wrong because it throws an error.
Correct (to many apostrophs):
-- example: remote.call("EvoGUI", "create_remote_sensor", { mod_name = "my_mod",
-- name = "my_mod_my_sensor_name",
-- text = "Text: Lorem Ipsum",
-- caption = "Lorem Ipsum Text" })

Greetings steinio
Image

Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

qovtunov
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.15

Post by qovtunov »

Hi guys
Please help, starting or loading a map I have this exception.
__EvoGUI__/control.lua:10: attempt to index global 'game' (a nil value)
0.12.32 on OS X 10.11.3

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2633
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.15

Post by steinio »

Seems you use a wrong version.

Did you download it from the first post or from factoriomods.com?

My assumption is based on the content of line 10 of control.lua of the current version:
'end'

Maybe i'm on the totally wrong way.

Greetings steinio
Image

Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

User avatar
Narc
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.15

Post by Narc »

steinio wrote:i guess you just wrote the remote api, but never dreamed about that anyone use it :)
Actually, if memory serves, I didn't even write it myself -- I believe it was Afforess who pull requested it for use in probably Misanthrope.
steinio wrote:Just for your interest:
In remote.lua [...] (to many apostrophs):[...]
Thanks, I honestly never noticed. I'll add it to the todo list.

qovtunov wrote:Please help, starting or loading a map I have this exception.
__EvoGUI__/control.lua:10: attempt to index global 'game' (a nil value)
Must be an old version of EvoGUI, for Factorio < 0.12.11. Try grabbing it from the first post of this thread instead.

User avatar
Narc
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.16

Post by Narc »

Ladies and gentlemen, and all interested parties, EvoGUI v0.4.16 (direct download) is now available.

This release fixes the remote sensor creation examples and removes the mod name from remote sensors' titles as shown in the settings interface:
Image

Instead, remote sensors get an asterisk ("*") in front to signify that they come from somewhere other than core EvoGUI. This should be much less invasive and more acceptable, I hope.

Neemys
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 461
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 6:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.16

Post by Neemys »

In my save, EvoGui was in the top left corner while other mod where at his right.
After updating EvoGui, the gui was move to the right of all button instead of being in the top left corner. Is there a way to move it back to the corner ?
Want more space restriction ? Or maybe you want to be forced to use train for other thing than ore and oil ? Try Building Platform Mod !

User avatar
Narc
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.16

Post by Narc »

Neemys wrote:In my save, EvoGui was in the top left corner while other mod where at his right.
After updating EvoGui, the gui was move to the right of all button instead of being in the top left corner. Is there a way to move it back to the corner ?
There's no support for moving GUI elements around on the modded HUD, and I'm not sure a single mod can safely do that. As you've seen, the most recently added element is the one furthest to the right -- so you'd have to remove and re-add the visual elements in the order you wanted to see them. Non-trivial because the mods might be keeping references to the visual elements that would be getting removed.

Neemys
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 461
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 6:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.16

Post by Neemys »

Narc wrote:
Neemys wrote:In my save, EvoGui was in the top left corner while other mod where at his right.
After updating EvoGui, the gui was move to the right of all button instead of being in the top left corner. Is there a way to move it back to the corner ?
There's no support for moving GUI elements around on the modded HUD, and I'm not sure a single mod can safely do that. As you've seen, the most recently added element is the one furthest to the right -- so you'd have to remove and re-add the visual elements in the order you wanted to see them. Non-trivial because the mods might be keeping references to the visual elements that would be getting removed.
Yeah I ended up to deactivate mod, save without them, reactivate them. EvoGui is back in the corner ;) Thanks anyway.
We miss something to move/reorder those Gui (at least client side). As there is a side panel in 0.13, maybe mod will be able to add there button here instead of on top of the screen.
Want more space restriction ? Or maybe you want to be forced to use train for other thing than ore and oil ? Try Building Platform Mod !

User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2124
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.16

Post by Ranakastrasz »

Suggest alternate evolution factor display. Showing linear values. Should work as long as mods don't break the standard limits.

Code: Select all

.5=1
.66=2
.75=3
.8=4

(1/(1-x))-1
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

TheSAguy
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1449
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.16

Post by TheSAguy »

When 0.13 comes out, please have the option to show the individual evolution causing factors, per the FFF

Code: Select all

Evolution factor 0.8702 (Time 9%)(Pollution 57%)(Spawner kills 32%)
Thanks.

User avatar
Narc
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.11+] EvoGUI (Evolution Factor Indicator) v0.4.16

Post by Narc »

Ranakastrasz wrote:Suggest alternate evolution factor display. Showing linear values. Should work as long as mods don't break the standard limits.

Code: Select all

[...] (1/(1-x))-1
I don't think that formula works:

Code: Select all

(1/(1-0.9)) - 1 == 9
(1/(1-0.99)) - 1 == 99
But you don't need a formula:

Code: Select all

if evo > 0.99 then return 6
elseif evo > 0.8 then return 5
elseif evo > 0.75 then return 4
elseif evo > 0.66 then return 3
elseif evo > 0.5 then return 2
else return 1 end
(it's just my preference to start from phase 1 instead of phase zero). If you wanted to be more precise, you could (as summarized earlier in the thread) query the spawners:

Code: Select all

for _,spawner in pairs(data.raw["unit-spawner"]) do
    for _,unit_spec in pairs(spawner.result_units) do
        -- store the unit_spec, where unit_spec[1] is the entity type and 
        -- unit_spec[2] is a table of {evo_factor, probability_at_evo_factor}
    end
end
Stuff that into a dummy entity somewhere you can read it at runtime, and you've got a way to tell exactly what can spawn at any given evolution factor, ideally including modded spawners. I look forward to reviewing your pull request.

TheSAguy wrote:When 0.13 comes out, please have the option to show the individual evolution causing factors, per the FFF

Code: Select all

Evolution factor 0.8702 (Time 9%)(Pollution 57%)(Spawner kills 32%)
Thanks.
If it can be queried, then of course. It's not obvious how to do it from the 0.13 API doc preview, but probably that hasn't been updated yet.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”