Homeworld 0.5.2

Topics and discussion about specific mods
ljdp
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:33 am
Contact:

Homeworld 0.5.2

Post by ljdp »

Homeworld changes the main objective of Factorio.
You must supply resources to your homeworld so that civilization can be restored.
Over time the population on the homeworld will require different needs as they progress through six tiers.
Reach a population of 100K at tier 6 to win.


For more information, see the wiki.
Explanation
Feature List
Roadmap
License
Last edited by ljdp on Tue Aug 04, 2015 9:31 pm, edited 12 times in total.

ljdp
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:33 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.1.0

Post by ljdp »

Started work on the entity sprites, fishery & the sawmill:

Image
Image

the_noisies
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.1.0

Post by the_noisies »

Hey. 1st off, love the idea of this mod!

(removed problem as now fixed)

Thanks
Last edited by the_noisies on Sun Aug 30, 2015 12:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.

ljdp
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:33 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.1.0

Post by ljdp »

Yeah, that's been fixed, I'll upload a new version later today.

ljdp
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:33 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.1.0

Post by ljdp »

Finished the Sawmill.

Image

Version 0.1.1 available: https://github.com/perky/factorio-homew ... tag/v0.1.1

Airat9000
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1396
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:32 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.1.1

Post by Airat9000 »

:o good!! i like it

idea

more products and final longest


I think it would be better to make a more powerful product to be sent to their home planet. Assume advanced technology or products.

ljdp
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:33 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.1.1

Post by ljdp »

Finished Farm sprite:
Image
I think it would be better to make a more powerful product to be sent to their home planet. Assume advanced technology or products.
Yes, there will be terraforming machines that you'll need to send, but are useful on for you also. The basic terraforming machine will just plant trees around it and clean pollution, the advanced terraforming machine will replace the tiles around it.

ljdp
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:33 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.2.0

Post by ljdp »

Version 0.2.0

- New Farm sprite!
- New Seeder machine: plants trees.
- New Terraformer machine: changes the biome around it.
- Added Tier 6 population, they require terraforming machines and a rocket silo.
- Added non-consuming needs. These needs are not consumed, but you need to meet the required amount in order for the population to grow.
- Bug fixes.

The Seeder and Terraformer require 'Program Cards' to work. They go inside the input slot, not the module slots, and are one-time use only. There are 5 tree programs for the seeder, and 5 terraform programs for the terraformer (sand, grass, dirt, stone & concrete).

Airat9000
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1396
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:32 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.2.0

Post by Airat9000 »

ljdp wrote:Version 0.2.0

- New Farm sprite!
- New Seeder machine: plants trees.
- New Terraformer machine: changes the biome around it.
- Added Tier 6 population, they require terraforming machines and a rocket silo.
- Added non-consuming needs. These needs are not consumed, but you need to meet the required amount in order for the population to grow.
- Bug fixes.

The Seeder and Terraformer require 'Program Cards' to work. They go inside the input slot, not the module slots, and are one-time use only. There are 5 tree programs for the seeder, and 5 terraform programs for the terraformer (sand, grass, dirt, stone & concrete).
Finite Water
I would like to understand the calculation of the water, how to be limited if you put the water.

it would be necessary even if the water is replenished as it is, to make even a swimming pool or underwater sources such as the reservoir for the land.
otherwise there will be enough resources to boilers and other.

ljdp
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:33 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.2.0

Post by ljdp »

Airat9000 wrote: Finite Water
I would like to understand the calculation of the water, how to be limited if you put the water.
it would be necessary even if the water is replenished as it is, to make even a swimming pool or underwater sources such as the reservoir for the land.
otherwise there will be enough resources to boilers and other.
? Sorry I don't understand.

ljdp
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:33 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.2.0

Post by ljdp »

Finished seeder sprite:
Image
See a GIF in action.

Airat9000
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1396
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:32 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.2.0

Post by Airat9000 »

ljdp wrote:Finished seeder sprite:
Image
See a GIF in action.

:D I mean if you do a limited water would then have to do the installation for the generation of water.

UberWaffe
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 4:53 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.2.0

Post by UberWaffe »

I think the question is about how you keep boilers and steam engines going if water is finite.

Is water replenished somehow? How fast does water drain? How can I keep large power setup's running?

Along those lines.

EDIT: Ah, ninja'd.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6759
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.2.0

Post by Koub »

... Or you can have to move your steam setup every now and then, when you have depleted that water patch, like you do with iron/copper :)
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

ljdp
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:33 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.2.0

Post by ljdp »

When finite water is added, there will be no water 'regeneration'. So you have three options:
1. Pump water from a small lake and have to move to another lake ~30 minutes later.
2. Pump water from a large lake and have to move ~3 hours later.
3. Pump water from an ocean and never move. Oceans are infinite sources.

Airat9000
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1396
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:32 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.2.0

Post by Airat9000 »

ljdp wrote:When finite water is added, there will be no water 'regeneration'. So you have three options:
1. Pump water from a small lake and have to move to another lake ~30 minutes later.
2. Pump water from a large lake and have to move ~3 hours later.
3. Pump water from an ocean and never move. Oceans are infinite sources.
idea
it would be good to make a swimming pool where the water would be drained.
Attachments
2015-07-24_21-31-32.jpg
2015-07-24_21-31-32.jpg (470.43 KiB) Viewed 13310 times

hoho
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 676
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.2.0

Post by hoho »

I haven't tried on 0.12 yet but in 0.11 it was possible to pump water from the edges of ribbon map (pump intake was off the map where no real water was present). Not sure if it's a problem you should deal with.

ljdp
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:33 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.4.0

Post by ljdp »

Version 0.4.0 has been released.

This version adds finite water. Offshore water pumps will slowly drain lakes. Oceans are still infinite sources.

A difficulty selection menu has been added. This appears at the start of a game.

You can now easily create your own set of needs. Homeworld comes with a template scenario, found inside "_homeworld_dir_/scenarios/homeworld".
To create your own just duplicate that folder and rename it. Inside is a file named control.lua, there is a tutorial on how to change the needs in there.

New portal sprite and animation.
Image

User avatar
darkshadow1809
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 306
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.4.0

Post by darkshadow1809 »

This is such a good quality mod man :D I am definitely thinking about making a seperate modpack with this mod if you wouldn't mind :) Your idea's seem very very solid and good :) !

Goodjob!
ShadowsModpackDevelopment

ljdp
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:33 am
Contact:

Re: Homeworld 0.4.0

Post by ljdp »

Hotfix v0.4.1 fixes a small typo that causes a crash when homeworld gui is opened.

https://github.com/perky/factorio-homew ... tag/v0.4.1
I am definitely thinking about making a seperate modpack with this mod if you wouldn't mind
Thanks darkshadow, you're welcome to include Homeworld in a mod pack but I recommend you wait until this hits version 1.0, as there is possible still bugs to work out.

Locked

Return to “Mods”