[Twinsen] [0.17.76] Logistic network content in tooltip above health and "last user"

We are aware of them, but they have low priority. We have more important things to do. They go here in order not to take space in the main bug thread list.
Post Reply
Progman
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:45 am
Contact:

[Twinsen] [0.17.76] Logistic network content in tooltip above health and "last user"

Post by Progman » Sat Nov 09, 2019 8:02 pm

When you hover over an entity related to the logistic network you can see the logistic content. However, since the tooltip changes you can't see the default entity lines like "Health" or "Last user" anymore when the screen is too small. When you have the tooltip at the mouse cursor you will see the following:
tooltipLogisticOnMouse.png
tooltipLogisticOnMouse.png (470.53 KiB) Viewed 113 times
However when the tooltip is on the side the tooltip might be too big to show anything, specially when there are a lot of different items in the network:
tooltipLogisticOnSide.png
tooltipLogisticOnSide.png (686.39 KiB) Viewed 113 times
The "Health" and "Last user" lines used to be above the logistic network content, but now you can't see it anymore.

Twinsen
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1067
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:10 am
Contact:

Re: [Twinsen] [0.17.76] Logistic network content in tooltip above health and "last user"

Post by Twinsen » Tue Nov 12, 2019 10:47 am

Our minimum supported resolution is 1920x1080. If you have a smaller screen you should lower the UI scale, or just "deal" with these issues.

But the huge tooltip problem is an issue we are aware of and I'm looking into ways to fix it but unfortunately it's not trivial without just removing the logistic contents from the tooltip.

Until then, I'll consider this a minor issue.

User avatar
TruePikachu
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 893
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 8:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [Twinsen] [0.17.76] Logistic network content in tooltip above health and "last user"

Post by TruePikachu » Tue Nov 12, 2019 2:02 pm

Do we even still need the logistics content on the tooltip? Why not just replace it with the logistics network ID, and have players use the dedicated logistics content view to get the contents?

Twinsen
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1067
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:10 am
Contact:

Re: [Twinsen] [0.17.76] Logistic network content in tooltip above health and "last user"

Post by Twinsen » Tue Nov 12, 2019 3:49 pm

Players will complain that the information is not as easily accessible. But probably something like that will be done after I find an easy way to reach the network.

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2273
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [Twinsen] [0.17.76] Logistic network content in tooltip above health and "last user"

Post by steinio » Tue Nov 12, 2019 4:20 pm

Twinsen wrote:
Tue Nov 12, 2019 3:49 pm
Players will complain that the information is not as easily accessible. But probably something like that will be done after I find an easy way to reach the network.
Shift + L over a selected entity directly opens the content view with preselected network...
Image
Transport Belt Repair Man
My little mods: Link | My favourite mods: Bob's Mods | Angel's Mods | Yuoki Railway Core | EvoGUI | Logistic Train Network
Factorio Cheat Sheet by Denis Zholob

View unread Posts

valneq
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:43 am
Contact:

Re: [Twinsen] [0.17.76] Logistic network content in tooltip above health and "last user"

Post by valneq » Tue Nov 12, 2019 4:35 pm

steinio wrote:
Tue Nov 12, 2019 4:20 pm
Twinsen wrote:
Tue Nov 12, 2019 3:49 pm
Players will complain that the information is not as easily accessible. But probably something like that will be done after I find an easy way to reach the network.
Shift + L over a selected entity directly opens the content view with preselected network...
How about the following:
When only a few item types are present in the logistic network, just present it as is it is right now.
Once, there are too many item types in the network, the gui will start to reach the bottom of the screen. You could detect the collision between the tooltip (below the minimap, not on the cursor) and the bottom of the screen fairly easily, I suppose. When this happens you don't present all the contents in the network, but only up to that point. Then you give some kind of place holder like [...] and then you explicitly give the hint on how to see the full network content:
"Press Shift + L while hovering over this entity to see the entire storage of this logistic network"

User avatar
TruePikachu
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 893
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 8:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [Twinsen] [0.17.76] Logistic network content in tooltip above health and "last user"

Post by TruePikachu » Tue Nov 12, 2019 4:48 pm

Right now, my vote would be to:
  • Remove the field listing logistic network contents, in favor of a field that indicates the network ID.
  • Add a (config option controlled?) additional field for production entities, trains, logistic network entities, and electric network entities (?) which explains how to open the relevant UI.

Post Reply

Return to “Minor issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users