How to check full belt of items

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
Arakasi
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:43 pm
Contact:

How to check full belt of items

Post by Arakasi »

I have a setup with Arboriums and Mulchers (Renewed Arborium mod) where I need to check whether belt is full of seed. I see in the belt connected with circuit that there are up 8 items in Hold mode.
Inserter connected to this belt would react on "Anything" > 7 which works if the belt is filled by single type of items. In my case there is various types of seeds and I need to to count their consilidated number.
What are the options to enable insterter only when belt is full in case of various items on the belt. Thanks

boran_blok
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 7:56 am
Contact:

Re: How to check full belt of items

Post by boran_blok »

I think you have to make a merger with a combinator.

anything * 1 output checkmark for example.
and then on checkmark > 7

Zanthra
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 8:18 am
Contact:

Re: How to check full belt of items

Post by Zanthra »

Can you do something with a priority output splitter instead of using an inserter linked to the belt when full? The splitter will inherently do the check if the belt is full, and direct output to the non-priority side only when the priority side is full. Then you connect the inserter to the non-priority side and it only gets seeds in the correct condition.

Bauer
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 12:48 pm
Contact:

Re: How to check full belt of items

Post by Bauer »

You can do it with splitters.

Connect the seed belt to splitter 1.
Set both priority input and output to the side where the seeds are connected.
Connect this splitter with 2 parallel belts to another splitter (2).
Set a filter for fish for splitter 2.
Loop back the fish-exit of splitter 2 to splitter 1.
Fill the loop with fish.

If you find fish on the seed side between the two slitters, your seed belt is not full.
fish loop.gif
fish loop.gif (107.89 KiB) Viewed 289 times

ondrii
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 8:01 am
Contact:

Re: How to check full belt of items

Post by ondrii »

Bauer wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 7:09 am
If you find fish on the seed side between the two slitters, your seed belt is not full.
fish loop.gif
This is so brilliant and beautiful solution. Thanks, I will use it for sure :D

User avatar
disentius
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 535
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: How to check full belt of items

Post by disentius »

Use a Arithmetic combinator to trranslate all signals tot a total of one.
Read the belt on hold, and set the AC to each + 0, output -> A. the "A" signal will be the total of all different items on the belt. then the setting "anything < 7" or "A < 7" works as desired.

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”