Will somebody kindly explain research speed to me :'(

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
LittleMissMurder
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Will somebody kindly explain research speed to me :'(

Post by LittleMissMurder »

Hi, I'm new to the game and trying to make an efficient research setup is doing my head in.

Specifically, I don't understand how "Research speed" equates to how long it takes for a lab to process a resource pack. I've taken a look at the wiki and the equations and if I'm honest it all seems a bit ridiculous.

I can feed a single T1 assembler to churn out a red resource pack, and it takes exactly 10 seconds to craft. This makes sense to me because the time cost for said resource pack is 5 units of time, and a T1 assembler has a crafting speed of 0.5.

However, if I feed that pack to a lab, I have no idea how to predict/calculate how long that lab take to process it. The only info the game gives me is that the lab has research speed 1, but I have to resort to a stopwatch - and it takes 15s to process.

Where does that 15 seconds come from? How is it derived? If I look at the wiki entry on time, there is nothing that seems related to this, and the entries on the lab and individual resource packs are also barren of any useful information.

Please help. It's already rather annoying that I have to sit with a calculator, but having to use a stopwatch to figure out ratios earlier up the chain is going beyond the pale.

Thanks!!

Trific
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter

Re: Will somebody kindly explain research speed to me :'(

Post by Trific »