Belt vs inserter and assebmler output

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
TheoMarque
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 6:06 pm
Contact:

Belt vs inserter and assebmler output

Post by TheoMarque » Tue May 07, 2019 8:39 pm

I have a problem with massive green circut production:

Setup:
Image

The problem is with leftmost assembler. Their output is limited by production of green circuts -> inserter -> belt. Used express belts. Theoretically: Production with these modules (ignore green) is 22,5 green circuts per second and half od express belt is the same, 22,5 items per second. But I tested and output is slighty lower. I test different inserters capacity, nothing change, but one assembler produce 7,5 item per second so, mass inserter can move more items than assembler produce per second- from wiki, 13,85 items per second. Even add time to move arm, inserter to belt is more.

So, what is a problem? Belt nature? Is a problem with 4th dimmension?

P.S Is not a problem with output out of the setup.

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2752
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: Belt vs inserter and assebmler output

Post by DaveMcW » Tue May 07, 2019 9:55 pm

The inserter needs to hover over the belt all the time, to make sure it fills in every gap. But that is impossible. Sometimes it will be picking up more green circuits and let a gap in the belt go past it.

There are two possible solutions.

1. Use more belts than needed, and merge them at the end.
2. Use a circuit network clock to make all output inserters move at the same time. 64 ticks with stack size 6 works well.

TheoMarque
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Belt vs inserter and assebmler output

Post by TheoMarque » Thu May 09, 2019 3:31 pm

I preffer 2 option, but tried many , clocks and not working well problem is rounding. Output is 7,5/s so sometimes inserters put on belt 7, sometimes 8 items/s. This ruin any calculations for third in a row inserter.
Some idea is use a spliiters, but if i resolved problem with putting green circuts on belt i have a problem with getting iron and if I resolved iron problem te unsolvable problem is copper wire, Why? Assembler capacity. To small to accumulate enough copper wire surpluses for starting inserter to get more copperplates

any other advices?

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2752
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: Belt vs inserter and assebmler output

Post by DaveMcW » Thu May 09, 2019 3:38 pm

I tested and this setting works:

Clock: 32 ticks
Inserter 1: T=1, stack size 4
Inserter 2: T=1, stack size 8
Inserter 3: T=1, stack size 8

If you can't solve your input problems, you will have to use more and slower assembling machines.

adam_bise
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Belt vs inserter and assebmler output

Post by adam_bise » Thu May 09, 2019 5:25 pm

Stack inserters can output to a splitter much faster.
fi.png
fi.png (409.55 KiB) Viewed 204 times
This will compress half a blue
fi2.png
fi2.png (446.39 KiB) Viewed 204 times
In your case
fi3.png
fi3.png (421.47 KiB) Viewed 202 times

adam_bise
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Belt vs inserter and assebmler output

Post by adam_bise » Thu May 09, 2019 6:21 pm

Also, what is the crafting speed of those assemblers? I can see 4.375, but not what's above.

I have personally built 5.5 GC factories and found that more than 3 stack inserters were needed to fulfill copper wire input.

You can also just open the assembler and see what the hold up is.

Here is my setup..
gc.png
gc.png (437.36 KiB) Viewed 185 times

Serenity
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 467
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 6:16 am
Contact:

Re: Belt vs inserter and assebmler output

Post by Serenity » Thu May 09, 2019 8:25 pm

Don't belt copper cable for green circuits. It's just a bad idea. For the slower red circuits it works. Use direct insertion instead. Then one stack inserter for the cable can be enough. At most you need 1 stack + 1 fast

Here are some good designs with 8 beacons:
viewtopic.php?f=202&t=66924

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users